Tuesday, December 21, 2010

5 things

Sometimes it's hard to come up with five things that are good in my life right this very minute. And other days....well....it's hard to limit myself to just five.

It's 0648 on a Tuesday before Christmas. I'm off work until....well....i'm not scheduled again on a date that ends in 2010. So, good to be me. Joe is already at work but hoping to be home earlier than last night's arrival at almost 2000 (8pm). We're going out with friends tonight so i'm crossing my fingers that today is a shorter day for him.

He's off tomorrow (me too!) so we're going out to lunch. I love, love, love his days off in the middle of the week. Usually the kids are at school and we just run errands and go out to lunch. With the kids being home tomorrow, he'll get to spend an extra "weekend day" with them, doing whatever. I fear that they may have more Christmas stuff to do but i'm out of the loop on that one. The only Christmas stuff that Joe has to do is for me and i've said many times that i have already everything that i need. In fact, more than i need.

I have a new washer and dryer (front loaders, both). Woohoo. Surely a sign that i'm a "grown-up" when i'm excited about laundry appliances. :-S They are noisier than my former set and take longer (one hour and 45 minutes for the "whitest white" load with pre-soak in bleach!!) but i can do two loads-worth of clothes at once. Twice as many clothes, twice the length of the wash/dry cycle. It balances out.

It's a few days before Christmas....the sky is clear and blue.....and it's 54 degrees. The Sandia Crest ski area opened yesterday (just up the road...then up the mountain). The crest has two feet of snow and looks lovely. I'm hoping to go up there this weekend to snow shoe (last year's AMAZING gift from my FANTASTIC husband!). Then home to the hot tub and mango pop. See? It's hard to limit myself to only five great things in my life.

And i get to see my mommy in a few weeks.

And i get to go to Mexico and lie on the beach, immobile, like a beached whale, and read trash magazines while drinking Hummingbirds in a few weeks.

And it's not raining in my kitchen. :-)

Off to take a walk to get the applesauce to make cinnamon "cookies" with glue as decorations for the tree. They take five days (!) to dry so i'd best get started ASAP.

Wednesday, December 15, 2010

121510

Still pretty well off, luck-wise.

I was off work most of the day. Took a great hot yoga class that kicked my butt. Got to spend some time chatting with a friend over lunch. Went to Jo-Ann's and got fabric for a christmas present (that i have to sew and package and deliver before Saturday-- yikes!). Had really yummy soup for dinner (and get to have it again tomorrow night) and the rest of the family liked their dinner. And i work Thursday and Friday.....maybe. If the census at the hospital is down, i get sent home. To sew. And read. So, i either make $$ and get to socialize with my co-workers or i get to stay/go home and have the whole house to little ole me. Win-win!!

Off to the hot tub now (win!) then to bed with flannel sheets and the wind blowing outside. Good to be me. :o)

lucky

It isn't every day that i really recognize how lucky i am. I guess i'm just, as they say here in NM, "a little thick". I see lots that i don't want to have in my life to make me realize how much i already have. Like the country song, some of God's greatest gifts are unanswered prayers. Or the things that you don't have that go unrecognized.

Today, it's great weather outside. No 20" of snow to slog through. No torrential downpours. Great, clear weather with a blue cloudless sky. Crisp (40) but not too cold. An opportunity to wear the cute sweaters but not so cold that they'll be all covered up by four layers of coats and parkas.

It's not raining in my kitchen or living room. Those have both happened in the past couple years. Yes, our clothes washer died this past week and we got to go the laundromat. But it didn't flood our home like occurred at Paul and Mary's house when their washer malfunctioned (water everywhere!). We bought a new set of washer/dryer and were able to donate ours (washer could be easily fixed apparently) to the Angels Acts of Kindness through the church, thus blessing another family (and getting a tax write-off and a warm, fuzzy feeling). All good.

My kids get along. Growing up,while it may have occurred, i can't remember ever getting along with my sister. My kids are each others best friends and stick up for each other against all others. I would never have included my sister in my slumber parties with my BFF's. Or saved a cookie from the school Christmas party to take home to my sister. Or spent big bucks (a month's allowance) on Christmas for my sister. Both of my kids are better people than i was then. Shoot. They're better people than i am now. I take no credit for any of this. It's all them.

I don't have to work today. In fact, i don't have to work any day. I have insurance through Joe's job and he makes enough $$ that my working is just extra. The family prefers actually that i work less than i do so that i can do all the nice things around the house to make it homey. Make dinner. Have after-school-snacks ready when everyone arrives. Run all the errands so that weekends are more peaceful and not a couple days of to-do's. Iron shirts and do laundry so that mornings run more smoothly. Drive kids to/from activities and school. All the little extras that make life easier for the rest of the gang. If we were relying on my income, these little things wouldn't get done. And weekends would be two days of housework wedged between five days of working at the hospital. I don't know how people do it. Then again, i guess that's why there are so many fast food restaurants!

Wednesday, November 24, 2010

up since 0321

Just too anxious about Thanksgiving. I don't know why. It's just a dinner party with a predictable menu. No big surprises. No gifts to wrap, decorations to fuss with or eggs to hide. Just a bigger-than-usual lunch with four guests. Not even as many guests as our other dinner parties. Should be pretty casual. But....

I have a list of things to do every day this week to prepare. From thawing then brining the turkey to making two kinds of potatoes, three cranberry dishes (sauce, pie and jello mold) to setting up the games, there are items to check off every day. And don't even get me started on the cleaning!

While the kids and i have been commenting with dismay that the various restaurants are open on Thanksgiving (Shoney's! Burger King!), i'm starting to see the advantage to just going to a restaurant, letting someone else worry about all this and then just go home. "But then you have no left-overs! What a bummer!" counter my co-workers. To which i reply, "Yes, but that means you have no left-overs! What a bonus!"

Off to flip the turkey in the brine and start on the calabacitas. Have a great "Turkey Eve"!!

http://smartypanties.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/11/Turkey.jpg

Wednesday, November 17, 2010

HOT yoga!

I just got back from a Barkan HOT yoga class. The room is 70+% humidity and 105 degrees. It leaves the muscles "soft like buttah", and very bendy. I love it. Now off to try to get the house looking like we don't have a family of refugees living here (socks, shoes and pieces of paper scattered everywhere). Fun day off....all by my lonesome. Easier to clean when i don't have to worry of someone "saving" something from the trash can.

:o)

Saturday, November 13, 2010

tradition #2!

While we have managed to maintain the "cabbage roll-snow" tradition with some minor adjustments, i don't know how the other traditions are going to hold up in the coming season, much less the coming years.

We have for the past years followed a number of holiday practices that we may have outgrown. :o(

1. New Pajamas. I've made new pajamas for everyone in the family (maman, daddy, alessandra, christian) for Christmas every year for as long as we've been a family. Some years, the kids' pjs match. One year, the whole family had matching pjs. We open the pjs on Christmas Eve. This not only gives us a gift to open the night before (yay!) but makes for cuter pics in the morning when everyone is opening gifts in cute jammies instead of the ratty pjs that they may have otherwise worn (yay#2!). This year, however, Joe has already told me not to make him pjs as he already has too many pj pants. And Alessandra has similarly said t hat she has "so many pjs that i cannot close my drawer". So, she doesn't want Christmas pjs either. And, with the kids getting older and bigger, the cute flannel patterns are losing out to plaid and other more "adult" designs. So, we'll see what i end up doing. I will likley end up just making pjs anyway to follow the tradition and then letting them donate them or not wear them. This morning, as i'm writing this blog, the kids came down to breakfast. Christian wearing the camo pants and t-shirt in which he slept (and wore all day yesterday, ick), Alessandra in the work-out shorts and cami that she wore all afternoon and night. Why make cute pjs when they're comfy wearing old clothes day-to-night-to-day (they will both stay in pjs most of the day while inside doing homework or reading or surfing the 'net)? Tradition.

2. We also have a tradition of the Christmas Eve dinner. Pancakes. Bacon. Coffee/cocoa. Fruit. It's all kinds of yummy but i don't know that the kids are that eager to keep this tradition either. I guess with my making pancakes and "fancy breakfast" more often than just holidays, it's not so much a "treat". We don't do the Christmas Morning spread that my Grandma Amy used to do because there just isn't the time or energy to make schnecken and homemade oatmeal bread and Wolfe Eggs (don't even get me started on that). We've had "orphans " (see Thanksgivng) for the past couple Christmas Eves but won't this year. Everyone has paired off and we haven't made new friends.

3. Christmas Day Movie. We have also developed a routine on Christmas Day of receiving a Christmas Disney/Pixar movie and watching it, all together, in our Christmas clothes (or pjs). This year, we're a little too old for a Disney/Pixar film. And i don't know that buying a film is the best way to go anyway. With little kids, films get watched again and again and again. Little Mermaid, Pooh, Beauty and the Beast, etc. With 13 and 15yo, the films are really just a once or twice event. Who (besides Christian) wants to see Predator or Top Gun more than once or twice? So, it would be better to just rent from NetFlix and return it. So much for the tradition of anticipating opening the new Christmas Movie Time.

4. Clothes. Christian only wears camouflage. Alessandra only wears those items that she deems worthy (and i cannot, absolutely cannot tell what makes for a "good" item over a "ick" item, much to my chagrin). Buying clothes for either of them is a losing proposition. So....no new clothes this year at all. Maybe socks and underwear (boxers!) for him. Cannot even choose what are acceptable undies or socks for her.

5. Toys. What is a fun time in ToysRUs before the holidays, looking at the year's "must have" toys for a 4yr old is decidedly less so for a teen. They need and want nothing. We've already purchased Alessandra's "big gift" and have chosen but not yet purchased Christian's. After the "big gift", there is little else to purchase. There is a big difference between a Barbie Dream House ($25) and a new 16gig IPod (lots more $$). The boxes get smaller and the dollar costs get larger. The big opening of the Christmas gifts goes very quickly. Maybe we'll get two Christmas movies this year.

Off to finish making breakfast for my still-half-asleep teens. And to see which traditions they want to keep and which/how to tweak them this year.

tradition!

Growing up on Forestcrest Way, the tradition was that the first day of snow, Mom made cabbage rolls. The whole house would smell of tomatoes, beef-and-rice porcupines and steamed cabbage. It's a lot of bother steaming the cabbage, separating the individual leaves and rolling them around the porcupines, then simmering them in the tomato sauce. She'd do it every year. Tradition!

In the past years, i've followed the same tradition, to mixed success. The vegetarian cabbage rolls with red cabbage weren't a hit at all. The bulgur wheat filled cabbage rolls were less of a disaster but i still ate almost all of them. This year, we tried a new recipe and it was really good. Ok, Joe and i liked it a lot. Christian liked it ok. Alessandra at least tried the sauce over noodles. I will still be eating all of the left-overs but they're so good, i'm looking forward to it. The house smells great and the dinner is stick-to-your-ribs yummy! See recipe below and see what you think!


UNSTUFFED CABBAGE ROLLS (recipe as written)

1# ground beef
1 medium onion, sliced
1-2 t minced garlic
28oz stewed tomatoes
6oz tomato paste
2t dried parsley and oregano and sugar
1 small head cabbage, sliced thinly

saute first three ingredients, drain fat, add tomatoes and break up with potato masher (or spoon), add 1 1/2C water and remaining ingredients, bring to boil, then simmer 60-90 minutes

serve with mashed potatoes and green beans

LISI ADJUSTMENTS:

1. used Morningstar Grillers pre-cooked veggie meat for ground beef
2. used 28oz tomato puree (opened wrong can!)
3. served with rice or boiled egg noodles instead of mashed potatoes
4. mixed in sour cream at table to give dish a bit more fat and creamy texture

yummy!!!

Tuesday, November 9, 2010

Thanksgiving

We have traditionally invited "orphans" to our holiday meals as our family is just too small to merit all the fuss of a holiday dinner preparation, Our friend Carlos and his fiance Jen have been the most frequent guests but we've also included Donna (former colleague) and her mom, Petra (Alessandra's piano teacher) and her hubby/son, our friend Mark (before he married his wife who hates us), Amanda (from my Bible study) and her brother, Joe's friend Vic and his wife, even including his daughter and ex-wife too. We had our friend Will a couple of holidays while he was separated from his wife and kids by his job placement (awaiting their relocation here which never happened),

It just seems like a lot of bother to make a 14# turkey, mashed potatoes, Lorraine's sweet potato pie (for Joe), cranberry jello mold (tradition!), rutabaga, cranberry bread and fluffy rolls, baked acorn squash with maple apple stuffing and a green salad, not to mention at least two but usually three pies for just the four of us. It was easier to do rationalize all the cooking and preparation with the whole Rossi clan coming to our house. And getting the premade Thanksgiving dinner for four from the grocery store just seems too depressing (but easy and quick!).

So, we're down to just the six of us this year with Carlos and Jen. All the others have gotten married, moved away or just moved on. The Fruits family shindig is just too far to go and the Rossis cannot travel here (although they keep threatening to...). So, if you know of anyone that is hankering for a good SW Thanksgiving dinner (hey! we've got green chile cornbread this year!), send them by. I'll leave a couple places set, just in case.

it's been forever...

Since i've been here. Sorry!!

So, speaking of it being forever....you should see my kids. I still call them "the kids" although i'm trying to transition to "the teens" as they are both completely in their teen years and bigger than i am. We just got their pics done a couple weeks ago and yikes! They look like adults. In fact, one of Alessandra's friends thought that it was an engagement picture (size of subjects and positioning) . I guess they're not toddlers anymore.

This point keeps being driven home to me. This past weekend, we had "family movie night". instead of something Pixar or Disney, the kids had chosen to watch the Netflix film that they'd received. So, instead of animated animals or talking clocks (see Beauty and the Beast), we watched Schindler's List. Not real upbeat! Great movie but kinda a downer. While i had bad dreams afterwards, Alessandra came home from school today and started playing the theme from the movie on the piano. She was figuring it out as she played. As if the song wasn't already haunting my thoughts all day! She is becoming a very interesting person in her own right. So very unlike me in just about every way. So much more like her father but mostly just like herself.

Christian is also very unlike me in just about every way. He is more like his paternal grandfather than anyone else. But mostly just like himself. More stubborn than the day is long. You cannot tell the boy anything. He is all about finding it out for himself. Even if the answer that he is given is the same one that he'll find on his own, he will not allow that someone else might be right. It's going to be a loooooong adolescence for him as he is already making me crazy and he's only thirteen and in seventh grade. Five more years of school and homework issues and having to have things his way. That's a lot of camouflage clothing and late homework assignments. Send me strength, patience and lots of time in the hot tub alone.

Off to help Alessandra with some homework/clothing crisis. It seems that her friend needs black jeans imminently, until Monday, so they need to flip through my pants to find some that will fit Steph. Christian will be wearing camo every day until Monday. It's easy to shop for him-- oversized military anything. He looks like a Army surplus advertisement.


Oh! The recipe below was easy but a bit too pumpkin for me. See what you think. Like pumpkin pie without the crust.

PUMPKIN FLAN

1pkg flan with caramel sauce (Jello)
1C pumpkin pie mix (not the pureed pumpkin)
1C milk (or coffee creamer or half-and-half)

make flan like instructed on box, substituting the pumpkin pie mix and cream for the 2C milk
chill for 2+ hours and decant as needed for dessert.

good but not as good as homemade pumpkin pie with cool whip !!

Wednesday, October 20, 2010

Thai Sweet Potato Stew

It's a pressure cooker thing! But it's yummy and oh-so-fast-and-easy!!

THAI SWEET POTATO STEW

2T oil
1 lg onion
3 red/green/yellow bell peppers
2 cloves garlic
slice the veggies and saute in oil in pressure cooker (open!)
2 large sweet potatoes (peeled and 1" chunks)
14oz coconut milk (not cream of coconut)
1/2 C water
1T Thai green curry paste (or just 1T hot sauce)
salt/pepper
add this to veggies in pressure cooker, cover and bring to pressure, let cook for 3 minutes then quickly release pressure
1/2C green beans/sugar snap peas
2T fresh cilantro, chopped
add to mix above and cook 3 minutes with pressure cooker open

serve with optional rice and some bread product to sop up the yummy soup!

what is beauty?

I have, admittedly, a skewed view of the world. I'll admit that my views are not exactly mainstream, especially for the Midwest upbringing that i had.

I look at my husband (of 19 years, on the 19th of this month) and he is as good looking to me as the day that i first saw him, standing in the corner of the Newborn nursery with the other newbies to the unit. Does he look the same as he did then? No. His hair is straighter (and a bit longer), he no longer has the earring and has more grey in his hair. Would my 22yo self have considered this "2010 model Joe" attractive? I can't say. My reference point for beauty has changed. Grey streaks in a ponytail? Sexy. Much like he considers (or at least tells me that he does) crinkles around my eyes attractive. "Just the remnant of where smiles were", he tells me.

Some things haven't changed in my view but have in the society as a whole. The whole "grungy" look--unkempt, greasy hair that is forever falling in the eyes, pants that are too long (they get walked on and tattered), pants that hang on the hips-- is a look that is totally lost on me. The kids love it (and wear it!) but i don't get it.

Then there is the whole weight thing. I suppose that one could see it as a positive. There isn't the focus on girls ( and guys, to a much, much lower extent) being model-thin anymore. In fact, the pendulum has swung way the other way. Kids, teens and young adults are now almost universally overweight, many crossing overweight to outright obesity. This had been true of adults in the past but not to the extent that just about all age groups have now embraced the "more the better". The plethora of diet plans, diet/reduced everything foods and exercise options (24hr gym memberships, personal trainers, home gyms, Wii/computer assisted workouts and many, many fitness classes) have seemingly little effect. People want a "magic pill" and won't do the "move more, eat less" that might require a bit of effort.

The societal pressure to be "thin and attractive" is gone. People are now content to be "fluffy" and there are no repercussions. Clothing is now offered in ever increasing sizes in the mainstream stores (no more need to go to the embarrassment of finding a Lane Bryant or Men's Big and Tall). No more teasing in schools as chubby has become the accepted norm. In fact, the only "teasing" that i've heard at work and school was that someone was too thin and should "eat more so you look healthier" (woman in question just finished chemotherapy for breast cancer). So, it's not that people are getting more humane and considerate, just changing their foci.

I suppose that i'm just getting old and judgemental. I make sure that i don't comment on the appearance of my kids' friends, good or bad. I don't have the same taste in clothes as my teens, either of them. I let them pick out what they will wear and try ot accomodate their tastes. To varying degrees of success. I saw earlier today clothes in Christian's closet with tags still attached....from Christmas. Clearly a clothing misfire on my part! He sticks with a camouflage/black theme with occasional forays in to printed t-shirts. Alessandra is more complex and i've given up on trying to pick anything for her. She always looks beautiful in anything that she wears so i just let her do what she thinks is right. Shopping with her is a long affair but she never buys anything that she doesn't wear to death.

I, on the other hand, haven't really changed my "look" in years and years. A few more jeans and fewer skirts (especially black skirts with white tops and a bright red MK jacket...) since moving here but not radically different. More groovy tie-dye, less black nighttime wear (nowhere to get dressed up for in NM).

So, what is beauty? My happy family. The mountains out my back door. The view of the valley from my bedroom. A negative mammogram result from my doctor. It's all good.

Thursday, September 30, 2010

HISTORY

I later heard this song and, loving the words and how they fit my mood, wanted to post them here. Hope that they make you feel better too. :o)


HISTORY (Matthew West)

Its been a bad day, you've been looking back
And all you can see is everything you wish you could take back
All your mistakes, a world of regrets
All of those moments you would rather forget
I know it's hard to believe
Let me refresh your memory

Chorus:
Yesterday is history
And history is miles away
So leave it all behind you
Let it always remind you of the day
The day that love made history

You know you can't stay right where you fell
The hardest part is forgiving yourself
But let's take a walk into today
And don't let your past get in the way

Would you believe that you are history
In the making, in the making
Every choice that you are making
Every step that you are taking
Every chain that you are breaking
History is in the making
Every word that you are saying
Every prayer that you are praying
Every chain that you are breaking
History is in the making
History is in the making
History is in the making

musical memories....

So, i'm sewing quilts and listening to Joe's IPod, set on random to the AMradio playlist, when a song comes on that so sharply brings back memories that i have to stop sewing and write them down. This is not the first time that this has happened.

What was the song? Billy Joel, Movin' Out.

I was instantly transported to my Ama's living room, with the scent of pre-lo-VOC paint, the vision of drop cloths everywhere and that big old console radio/television armoire that she had. My dad was painting her entire house (favorite son-in-law that he was) and i was just along to keep him company. A song came on and my dad stopped painting to tell me that this was a new artist that he'd just discovered on WEBN (his radio station) and what did i think of him. Billy Joel. An artist that went on to be popular with my dad and many others.

While this exchange may have just been a moment out of his life, certainly not one of the "pivotal parenting moments" that he may or may not have ever flashed back on in reviewing his life, i remembered it always. Just me and my dad, listening to his music and chatting. Nothing special. Nothing that out of the ordinary. Just gives me a twinge to know that i can't call and tell him that i'm thinking of him. Did i do that enough when i could? Does anyone ever know if they do enough until it's too late?

This also got me thinking. Which of today's or tomorrow's little moments will stick out to my kids? The aphorism is that, in raising kids, the hours drag and the years fly by. It's soooo true. We motor through the days, getting done what we "have to do" and look up to realize that the time has flown by.

(OMG, another Billy Joel song has cycled in....i miss my daddy.... when does the crying time pass?)

Gotta go. Hard to type like this. Gotta change the play list.

Friday, September 17, 2010

where's the $$?

Sometimes you just have to look back at your life and evaluate the choices that you've made. We are all, of course, a product of the choices that we make (or have made for us). Where we live, who we live with, how we live-- all the result of choices. Sometimes, just one little change can have far reaching and obvious effects. Some choices seem clear and true...only to be found wanting later upon further reflection.

Last October, over the Homecoming Weekend for my daughter's school, instead of staying in town for the festivities, we went to Ohio. For two days. We saw Joe's mom and sisters but really went to the state to see my Dad who i was told was "really sick". When we got there, he was a bit thinner and had (he said) less energy. He still managed to out-walk my teens and looked better than most men his age. He still looked like "Dad" to me; not the sick shell that i'd feared finding. I had thought to go there for Christmas too but decided not to spend the time, $$ and energy to travel over the holidays. I'd go in January for his birthday. It would be better to go when the airline rates would be cheaper. When it would be easier to get away and i wouldn't have to take time off work in the busy holiday season.

Yes, i did go in January, the day after his birthday. To his funeral.

Where is the $$ that i saved by not going the summer before? When the kids could have spent time with "grandpa Paul" shooting archery with made-by-me bows? When he was feeling good? When we could have lazed by the porch with the dogs and heard the him tell the same stories that i remember from childhood?

I've worked a lot of shifts at my job lately.

I've not seen that $$ that i "saved" from not visiting my Dad when he would have known me.

And no matter how much $$ i spend now, i cannot buy a ticket that will take me to the place where i can ride bikes with him again. Or walk through his woods ( currently for sale) and talk about everything and nothing. Or share green chile enchiladas with him again and watch him sweat under his eyes because they're so spicy.

I guess the aphorism is true-- money cannot buy happiness.

Monday, September 13, 2010

I dislike my son.
I dislike being with him.
I count the days until he can leave (age 16, can be emancipated minor).
How bad of a mother does this make me?

Sunday, September 5, 2010

how's your job going #2?

Church today was all about jobs and working and the satisfaction that they can bring. How God wants Man to work and feel satisfaction in doing good things. How good work will bring a good harvest (reap what you sow). I just don't feel like my "work" as a parent is yielding good fruit. No gold stars for a long time. Maybe i just need to work more at the hospital and less at the house. I've already contacted a Molly Maid to come do the housework (which i'll pay for by working more). Now, if i can just hire a handler for the Boy....

how's your job going?

I've always said that i wanted to be a mom who works as a nurse, not a nurse that has some kids at home. For the most part, my kids have always known that being a mom was my job #1 and that my shifts at the hospital were just something that i did (do!) while they're at school and i'd otherwise be home bored. That's all well and good.

One of the reasons that i work is "the gold star". Remember back in kindergarden? The gold star on your paper meant that you'd done a good job. That your work was worthy of a special sticker. Even a smiley face with a red pen was pretty darn good. As an adult, there are fewer and fewer "gold star moments", especially being home, so working at least gives me the opportunity to see that i've done something of merit. Something that justifies my existence.

Being Christian's mom is the anti-gold star.

Nothing that i do is right.

Nothing that i do "works".

He is an angry, petulant, unpleasant child.

I look forward to when he is not around.

I feel bad that i'm looking forward to his going to college/military/jail as this will mean that Alessandra has left. He, however, is so unpleasant that it's not just my life that he negatively impacts. It seems that, like smoke, he infiltrates everything surrounding with his poisonous attitude and behaviors. I almost wish that the police had just taken him away yesterday.

Saturday, September 4, 2010

socially stunted?

I am old. I realize it off and on by my behaviors but even more so by the behaviors of others. I just don't understand "this generation" (see? old!!)

I can make plans for an outing.....and actually follow through.

I can call someone, invite them to join me for lunch, put it on a calendar and then show up.

Wowie Zowie!

This is beyond many of my age and certainly those younger.

I have coworkers who have been saying "we really have to get together" for over a year. They are unable to make a time....so busy they are....but really want to get together. Yet, they can tell you who won Dancing With the Stars, what's going on in Lost and who they are cheering for in America's Got Talent (Alex had to supply the names of these shows!). So, what gives?

Alessandra has been trying to get together with her "ice cream gang" but apparently it takes them over a week to line up a time to meet at a Sonic or Baskin Robbins for a cone. Even with all of them having cell phones and being able to text so quickly that their fingers are a blur. Six people. One ice cream shop. Over a week of planning. And they don't even have jobs or kids or spouses! I fear for them in the future.

So, we stayed home last night because our friends were too busy. The family that was to be coming over tonight to go to the high school football game with us and then back here for dinner and games has cancelled. Too much going on. Of course, we only made these plans yesterday (friday) for tonight (saturday) because they cannot think too far in advance. The couple that is supposed to be coming over tomorrow night? Crossing my fingers!

I, on the other hand, was up before dawn today to clean and prepare for tonight's house guests. We have a jello mold (kids) and a cake. We have chicken marinating and foccacia rising. And we have no guests now.

I should just give up and stay with just my little family. With the difficulty that Alessandra is having organizing get-togethers with her peeps, she'll be around. Now, if we can just keep Christian out of the park.....

grandma Amy warned me (prelude)

When i had a son (Christian), Grandma Amy told me (and i quote). "i remember when your dad was little. a little girl will cost you more money for clothes and a wedding and the like. but she will never give you the experience of having to open the door to the police, escorting her home. that's what boys cost you-- grey hairs".

So, after yesterday's experience with my boy, i got my hair colored this morning. Hide the first of those grey hairs that he's bound to be bringing me! :-S

Grandma Amy warned me

So, the phone rings and it's a woman. Alessandra had answered the phone a few minutes earlier and had said that " it was some woman that wanted you...but she wasn't selling anything". By the time that i'd gotten downstairs (i'd been in the shower), the line was dead.
When the phone rang again, i figured that it might be the same person. I thought that it was one of the nurses at work, wanting me to work later that day or even pick up a day during the coming week. Was i ever wrong.

Is this Lisa or Joe? This is Officer Kelley with the Albuquerque Police Department.

I was all ready to say "we already have our charities for this year and will keep you in mind for next year", the standard response to the frequent solicitations for the police department, the animal shelter, injured veterans and the many others that call.
The caller then continued with "We're at the High Desert Park. We have your son Christian and want you to come here. We'll be waiting for you."
Yikes!

Joe and i rushed to the High Desert Park, thinking that perhaps there would be one of the local yokels, the neighborhood security guards. Oh no.

"Real" cops.
With real guns.
Real cop cars.
FOUR real cop cars.
All surrounding our son, sitting on a bench by the semi-circular entrance to the otherwise deserted park.

It seems that Christian was all dressed to go play in the park. A neighbor saw him and called 911. Hence the big turn out of APD.

Christian was dressed head to toe in camouflage. With a burlap sac that he laid under at the park with only his head sticking out. And carrying a "rifle" that he'd made with duct tape and plumbing tubing.

So, a neighbor saw our strapping teenage son, camouflaged head to toe, apparently carrying a rifle, heading to the park and called 911.

The officers that arrived explained to us that if Chrisitian had pointed his fake rifle at them upon their arrival (even accidentally during his imaginary game that he was playing with the imaginary enemy), they would have shot him. "Shoot first, ask later"
being the rule when drawn upon.

Yikes.

It's not like i haven't said over and over and over to Christian that if he dresses all in camo, someone is going to think that he's a terrorist. Does he listen to me? Does anyone listen to me? No.

So, we were called to the park to be told that our son is scaring the neighbors and narrowly missed being shot by the police.

He's thirteen.

What fun awaits us in the coming years?

As Tim Voss used to say, "it's never boring"!

Saturday, July 31, 2010

So, it's Christian's birthday

In honor of his archery/hunting bent lately, we're doing a "Rabbit" theme for his birthday. I bought a (frozen)rabbit at the Keller's Farm Store (you can't hunt rabbits in the summer because they have parasites that are killed by the frost in the fall-- i didn't know this but Christian did). So, he is having rabbit for dinner. I found a palm-sized decoration for the dessert. I got four Rabbit figures (with real rabbit fur) for the table decoration. And we're having big crunchy carrots with dinner.

The only issue was what sort of cake/dessert. Then i thought of Mary's Pineapple Nut Cake. Yummy. Sweet (but not too sweet). Kinda like carrot cake but not as heavy with the 1 to 1 1/2 cup oil that most carrot cake recipes call for. Good for dessert... after-school snack time...breakfast...mid-morning snack time...

So, Alessandra made the Pineapple Nut Cake yesterday and iced it (cream cheese icing-- is there anything better?!) this morning. I had to hide it in the fridge in the garage to keep us from eating it before dinner tonight. The whole house smells great!

So, although the rest of the family cannot be at Christian's (very small, only the four of us) birthday dinner, you can be there in spirit. Alessandra and Christian are excited that we're having another "family heritage" recipe. They love the Paul's Baked Spinach and the Amy's Cheesy Garlic Grits from elsewhere in the Pathe Family Heritage Cookbook. Next recipe to try? The Amy/Ama/Mom Sour Cream Coffee Cake. My mouth is watering just thinking of it. Alessandra has already copied the cake recipe into her cookbook of favorites to take with her when she moves out (along with three, 3!, recipes for mac and cheese....).

In other news, our kitty is making us crazy. Or maybe it's the opposite way around. He has been losing hair (fur?). At first, we thought that it was a fungal infection and took him to the vet. She "wanded" him with black light but saw nothing. She did some skin scrapings and sent some cultures. In the meantime, we were to bathe the cat twice a week (he loved that) and cover him with a leave-in treatment of sulphur (he really loved that) once a week. A month later, the cultures came back negative and we were to stop the washings. He continued to lose hair. We then went to a different vet (recommended by one of Joe's colleagues) and he also wanded and examined the cat. Stress, he said. He orderred steroids on a wean-on then wean-off regimen. We did that for two weeks and things seemed to have stabilized. Then, we went on vacation, Alessandra went to camp, we went to the family reunion-- and the silly cat started losing hair again. We did another course of steroids and antibiotics but nothing. The vet recommended skin samples/biopsy. We did that (general anesthesia, overnight at the vet's, mucho $$). Everything came back negative. Everything has been a dead-end. So, we are out of options. We'll just have an ugly cat. The vet said that he thinks that we may just have a high-strung kitty who was freaked out when we tried to add a second kitty in the spring and just never got over it. Bueno. I cannot imagine doing this with seven animals like you had. One kitty is enough worry and concern. For a "free, stray kitty", he has gotten to be an expensive and involved venture!

Off to get a branch of mint to place next to the bunny on the cake.

It's true that we don't know what we've got
until we lose it, but it's also true that we don't
know what we've been missing until it arrives.

Cubanisimo!!!

We just got back from a Rossi-Lanni-Gallo family reunion in sunny (read: steamy, humid, buggy) Panther, Pennsylvania. On the way home from PA, we spent the night in NYC. While Joe said that this was because the trip to Panther was equidistance from landing in Newark, NJ or NYC, i know the real reason that we traveled through NYC.
In a word; Victor's.

Yes, we made our travel plans so as to be able to go to a Cuban restaurant, so great is my honey's love for the Cuban cuisine.

We had a great meal with Joe trying everyone's (mine was the bestest!). He and Christian found (again) that they love Ropa Vieja so, upon our return to NM, i had to make it.

See, two years ago for Christmas, Alessandra gave me a cookbook. Not just any cookbook but "Memories of a Cuban Kitchen: More than 200 Classic Recipes". Every tiime that i've made something from this book, it's been a success. Flan. Roasted Steak. Cuban Bread. Beef and Plantain Stew. Fried Plantains. So, i had to think that the Ropa would be yummy too.

I always make recipes exactly as their written the first time and then "improve" them the following times, per the guidance of the diners. Below is the original recipe with my additions in (parenthesis).

ROPA VIEJA
2 1/2# flank steak, cut in half
2-3 bay leaves.
1/4C Spanish olive oil
1 large onion, sliced thinly
1 large green pepper, sliced thinly
1T chopped garlic
14oz canned tomatoes
1/2C cooking sherry (or not...)
salt/pepper to taste
(1/2C green olives, chopped)
(1/2C liquid from green olives)

1/2C chopped, drained pimientos for garnish (or not)
1/2C drained canned early sweet peas (definitely not!)

place beef and bayleaf in large pot with water to cover, bring to boil and simmer for 60-90 minutes, remove meat from stock (reserve stock for soup later in the week?), allow meat to cool and shred with two forks
saute oil, onion, green bell pepper and garlic in large pot, 6-8 minutes, to tender, add tomatoes, sherry and beef, cook uncovered for 15 minutes
serve with white rice


(i boiled the beef, shredded and dumped all in the crock pot on HIGH for one hour then LOW for 6-8 hours--house smelled great!, served with rice the first night and in a sandwich on hollowed out french bread with roasted red bell pepper-- yummy!!)

I also made sauteed plantains although you could use bananas instead. Just make sure to use the absolutely greenest, firmest bananas possible, saute in butter and salt. They cook to a sweet creaminess that is a good contrast to the sharp earthiness of the shredded beef.

Give it a try and let me know? Always open to changing/improving a recipe!
xoxo-- the Cuban Ropa Vieja cooking vegetarian!

Sunday, July 11, 2010

follow-up to the great save vs share conundrum

I had told you about the issues that i have with "sharing" and "saving". I tend to try to save things for special occasions and then find that i don't get to have them when i want to. Like the "good" peanut butter or the mandarin oranges from the earlier post. And, if you've been reading my listings, you know that i've had a few instances where fate/God has given me signs-- found $$ when walking multiple times, "told" not to have a test then found out that i was pregnant and test would have been harmful to developing peanut (Alessandra). Apparently, i need to update and tie this all together.

I'd complained that i try to save the "good" peanut butter (natural, only peanuts) and the Fluff for when i really need a "fix". Then i've occasionally found that the Fluff has become too solid from storage or one or the other gets eaten by the kids and i'm SOL. My sister fixed this for me.

My sister has the "gift of gift". She can, and does, give the best gifts for Christmas, birthday and "just because" (my Pappagallo purse!!). For my birthday this year, she shipped me (early) four (4!!) jars of Fluff and a jar of only-made-in-Columbus Krema peanut butter. You would think that i would save the Fluff for my birthday and just dole out bits of it for special days to make it last. Hoarding it for mememememe. But no. Fates/God with cooperation of Erica and the postal employees who left my package upside down on top of our mailbox have helped to end this practice. With the altitude difference between here (6000 ft) and Indiana (much less), the jars exploded, leaking some (but not all!) of the contents into the packaging. So....i have four open jars of Fluff. We've all been eating Fluffernut sandwiches, Fluff on banana bread, Fluff on ice cream. It's been like a whole week of birthday celebration for me! So much more fun that keeping all the fun and Fluff for myself! Alessandra and Christian love, love, love Fluffernut and Joe too (although he prefers the Fluff without the peanut butter on one slice of bread and the pb without Fluff on the other, not to be eaten together.....funny guy that he is).

I had Fluff for lunch and at dinner. It's just been a week of Fluffy fun. Sweeter and stickier than a birthday cake, more fun than an ice cream cone. It's just a whole week of sugar-high!! Who knew that postal mishaps could be so fun?!

Thursday, July 8, 2010

kid-free

It's sooooo quiet here without the kids. I can't really say "munchkins" as they are both bigger than i am but i guess they'll always be our kids, even when they have them of their own (far, far in the future, one hopes....). Both come back on Saturday and that will be about right. While they were gone for two weeks last summer, we were so busy with Joe's surgery that it didn't seem like any time at all. Now, with just having each other and no distractions (therapy, CPM, post-surgical visits, houseguests, etc), it seems like this week has gone more slowly than the two weeks last summer.

It's been a busy summer and will continue to be so until school starts (five weeks from today). Alessandra still has to finish 25% of her Am History class and do all of her Government/Civics class (on-line). Christian is reading a big book on Ancestral Puebloans (aka Anasazi Indians) and will be discussing that with me and Joe (i'm reading it now too). I"m only working two days a week so as to walk that fine balance line between being here all the time and making them crazy with "playdates" and activities and being gone all the time so that they feel like they have to cope completely on their own. I like to see "big people" and feel like i'm doing something of worth to show the kids that they can be professionals too. I'm still a mommy who does nursing, not a nurse with kids, a fine line to balance sometimes.

Off to do the nursing part of that equation. I work a looooong day today but then have off until next Tuesday. It's a good mix of work and play. :o)

Tuesday, July 6, 2010

green bean salad

I saw this recipe and just had to make it. I've been eating it all week and haven't gotten sick of it yet (although it's now all gone). See what you think.

GREEN BEAN SALAD

2# green beans, trimmed but left long

1-2 tomatoes (the "on the vine" kind are the yummmiest)
1/4C red wine vinegar
1/2C olive oil
2T dijon mustard (or spicy hot or stone-ground or whatever you have)

3 stalks green onion, sliced/diced
handful of fresh herbs, chopped fine (basil, oregano, marjoram, parsley)

steam the green beans to firm but cooked (not mushy, not raw and completely crunchy)

puree tomatoes in cuisinart with vinegar, oil and mustard

mix in green onion and herbes and pour over green beans

chill and serve

i've been dumping portions of it on lettuce/salad and using as both veggies and dressing.

yummy and cool and quick!

Wednesday, June 23, 2010

grasshopper and the ant....

Actually,that's been a theme lately.

I don't know how much you've heard of the "nature vs nurture" themes but i have a spin on that. I don't know how much influence i've actually had on my children but rather think that they're a product of their age as much as anything else. As are we. Let me explain.

I'm a product of my grandma's age and thinking. She was poor as a youngster and relatively poor throughout her life. She always got the best deal, saved for a rainy day and was reluctant to spend money, especially on herself. She would give you the shirt off her back but wouldn't spend the $$ on herself to indulge. Ever. I similarly won't indulge myself (ok, not very often) but am always putting things "up" for later.

I'll "save" the Morningstar Veggie patty (that i love) for the night that the family is eating something beefy and i want something for me. Or for the day that i'm working a long day and want something to look forward to. I've "saved" the fancy china for "good" occasions and thus we only use it on Easter, Christmas and the occasional dinner party. I cut up fruit for the kids' breakfasts every morning, peeling and coring apples and the like. I eat the peels and cores and leave them the "bestest" parts. I eat most of the left-overs in the house (lunches, recycled dinners) while i make them the yummiest things. I wear the outgrown clothes from the kids for work-out wear (and everyday bum-around-the-house garb, like now). I cut coupons and only buy the on-sale items as possible, basing my menus for the week on the sales and deals.

Alessandra is a product of her age too. She of the "i want it all and i want it now, only the best will do" has no problem with taking whatever goodies she sees. The reserved frozen entree meal saved for my 12 hour shift at the hospital this friday? After being told that i had reserved it, she took it anyway, heated it and, after one bite, decided that it was "icky" and threw it away. Having told her that Indian brown rice entree with tofu and spinach would likely not be anything that she'd like, she looked at me like i was an idiot (common expression for a teen, no?) and opened the package and heated it. She is selfish and short-sighted. And no different than most her age. Why save when you can have it now?

We just got back from vacation with a long drive. During this drive, Christian fell asleep and Alessandra was hungry. Joe gave her a Payday candy bar that he'd brought along for just such an event and said to eat half and save the other half for Christian. It would hold them until we got to a town with a restaurant. She broke the bar in half and happily tore into her part. Then Christian woke up....only to find that she had eaten his half too. "i was hungry and he was asleep" being her response. Selfish and short-sighted.

I feel as though i've failed as her parent as i cannot get her past this. And, at fifteen years old, i think that her personality is pretty set, no longer as moldable as she might have been at five. So, we just wait until she is eighteen and on her own. She can then see how the "real world" deals with her and maybe learn to cut her own fruit for breakfast. I'm going to just stop. There is no point in buying the veggie burgers, the fancy frozen Indian meals or "good" peanut butter. When i get to them, they're always gone. Instead of reserving and waiting until the time is right, i'll just wait another three years. And maybe serve them on that china....

Monday, June 21, 2010

new edition of Mom Surprise

yummy soup/chili last night. you gotta try it!!

CHEATER'S CHILI

15oz can refried black beans (or regular refried beans but the black beans are yummier and fat-free)
15oz can petite chopped tomatoes
1/2C salsa
1 can tomato soup
15oz can hominy (rinsed and drained)
15oz black or red kidney beans (rinsed and drained)

dump in crock pot

fill soup can with water, swirl around, slosh in tomato and bean cans too (many cans, one can of water)

add:
2T cocoa
2T taco seasoning packet (about 1/2 packet)
12oz beer (cheap is ok, i used old Budweiser that i found in the back of our drink fridge from who-knows-when)

HIGH 4-5 hours with cover/lid partially open

serve with steamed white rice, lots of cheese/sour cream and optional green chiles (not necessary but yummy!!) and corn bread/tortillas

my family loved it :o)

add to Christian's list

game hen
turtle

looking to add more... suggestions?

Wednesday, June 16, 2010

vacation babble

We are sooooo not Las Vegas people. Of course, we just finished a three day stay in Vegas with plans (at least the kids have plans) of returning. We don't gamble. We don't smoke (although everyone else in the entire city seems to). We don't drink to excess (me, not at all, Joe only the occasional mojito or "boat drink"). We don't stay up all night acting foolish. So, why go to Vegas? The shows.

We took the kids to see Phantom of the Opera (their favorite musical having watched the movie version over and over and over). They loved it. Joe thought that it was ok. I invented recipes and daydreamed throughout the performance, pretending that i was anywhere but there. (Shrieking/opera, couldn't understand/hear much of the words--loud, not clear--, bored). We took the kids to see Cirque du Soleil LOVE (Beatles theme) which they love, love, loved. Since Christmas when they got the Beatles RockBand for the Wii and then Joe got the Beatles BoxSet (every Beatles song ever), it's been Beatlemania at the Rossi household. Putting the Beatles (way-cool) with the acrobatics and dancing and light show of the Cirque du Soleil made for a wild success for our crowd. The kids loved the "beach" pool area at the hotel.

So, while we may not be the typical "Vegas folks", it seemed to be a successful trip. Better than New York (again, there for the shows) although we didn't really take advantage of all the "amenities" that were offered. We never made it to the fancy-schmancy gym. We didn't bet at all (not even the "free spin" on the slot machine). No viewings of feather-encrusted show girls or kitty kat lounge lizards. No buffets. Ever. Many would say, i guess, that we missed out on the whole Real Vegas Experience. I"m ok with that. :o)

We're in Utah now and it couldn't be any more different. Amazingly high and sharp red rock cliffs shooting up from the brown and swiftly flowing Colorado River. Horses and cows in the pasture across from our cabin. Silence only broken by the twittering of birds and occasional snuffle of the horses nibbling the grass. While, like Vegas, there _is_ a buffet offered here, it features red-eye gravy, sausage and biscuits . Thus, the similarity is in name only. And, like our stay in Vegas, we won't be participating in this buffet either. Something about eating until you're uncomfortable so that you feel like you've "gotten your money's worth" that just doesn't appeal. We don't eat enough at any one time to make it worth it. With the exception of Christian who can, and often does, eat more than me and Joe and Alessandra combined. Growing boy and all.

So, speaking of Christian, let's review. On vacations thus far, he's nibbled his way through much of the animal kingdom.
Shark.
Squid.
Octopus.
Rattlesnake.
Tuna.
Cow.
Pig.
Elk (last night).
Buffalo (in Vegas and Albuquerque).
Chicken.
Turkey.
Anchovy.
Deer/venison.
Shrimp.
Lobster.

No duck or squab...yet.,, but he is looking to try that. He really wants to try rabbit and squirrel but hasn't had the opportunity. He points out that both can be purchased at the Keller's Market near our home and cooked. I just don't see me making squirrel etouffee any time soon.....

Alessandra is still staying pretty much with the "tried and true" (noodles of all kinds, cheese, milk, some fruits/veggies) but has expanded her palate a bit too. More hamburgers and some other sorts of beef. Pad thai (which has egg on it). She even tried the salt/pepper squid in Vegas (the "salt" sections that looked like rubber bands, not the "pepper" ones that were little entire squid bodies). One cannot live on mac 'n cheese forever i guess!

Off to wake the gang and head out on today's adventure. Hiking in Arches National Park? Going to the river and splashing around? Horseback riding (for Alessandra)? Our kids are so fortunate. When i come back, forget being a queen or a corporate bigwig... i want to be one of my kids and live the lives that they're now living. Young, cute and indulged (within reason). Good to be them. :o)

Saturday, June 5, 2010

easy street

When i look at the lives of others in our acquaintance, i am again reminded how easy i have it. No debt collectors calling our home. No worries if i find a great fabric on sale and want to buy the whole bolt. No health issues to speak of for me or my family. No marital problems and the kids are doing fine. Working only very part-time so that i can be home with kids over the summer and go to the pool or the archery range or hike on the mountain.

Living on Easy Street.

It's easy to get caught in the slippery slope of complaining about this or the other trivial concern (kids won't get their crap off the counter in the kitchen, i keep tripping over the same socks/gym shoes/boots/books in the kitchen, the workload at work is inequitably distributed) without realizing the incredible bounty of blessings in my life.

In the quiet of an early morning alone, just me, my breakfast and my caffeine, it's good to reflect on how "good i've got it". Sit and watch the hummingbirds outside and wait for the rest of the house to wake up. Life is good.

Now if i can just remember this when i fold go to do laundry and find _still folded clothes_ in the "dirty clothes" baskets from the kids' rooms.... :-S

lucky?

You may want to stop right here. Close this site and not call me. It seems as though we're the "black cloud of ill fortune" lately. While all has been good with us, those around us are having no end of difficulties. We have friends, family and acquaintances experiencing bankruptcy, famiy deaths (of those under 45yo), grave childhood illnesses and genreal despair. While we do have one acquaintance celebrating the birth of a long-anticipated son and namesake (woohoo!), many more are having horrid fortune.

And why?

Are these "bad people"? No. Are these families any more "deserving" of the ill turns of fate? No. Just bad luck? Likely. It's not as if the patriarch was a daredevil motorcycle jumper (a la Evil Kneivel) and is now in a body cast because of it. Or that the matriarch was doing crack and meth and is now deathly ill. No, all the families were just as normal as the rest of us...just going about their usual lives when the various tragedies befell them. They don't all live within the range of a nuclear power plant or on adjoining toxically over-fertilized (and thus bad for the health and welfare) factor farms. The only link betwixt them is their association with us.

So....... still reading? Run for the hills lest our black cloud reach out and envelope you too. :o( It's been such a worthless feeling to see our friends and family suffering so and not be able to do anything. Or even know what to say (as if anything that we say is going to make any of this better, much less "all better").

If good things are going on in your lives, let us know? We're pretty short on the list of "good things happening to good people" these days..

Saturday, May 15, 2010

why am i so tired?

We're just coming back to our hotel after the big combined family wedding. Joe's mom remarried and _everyone_ was there. So, on the way back to the hotel, Alessandra asks "why am i so tired? we didn't do anything all day?" A whole day of socializing with the extended family and crowds of people from their church and social groups. Lots of stimulation and meals out (two receptions). Swimming at the hotel pool for all the cousins (kids, not adults). Now it's 9pm (1900 ABQ time!) and the kids are slumped on the bed, having only energy to watch bad TV. Not energetic enough for the game night at Aunt Suzi's that we'd originally planned to do.

I think that it's just a variation on the "green theme" that we'd been speaking of earlier.

Ohio is seriously green. Everything here is humid and lush and green and/or flowering. It's too much stimulation. NM is "green" too...it's just a different green. It's sage green....almost grey to the uninitiated eye. A more soothing, calming, simple terrain. Quieter and more relaxed. Ohio green is too much stimulation. And i think that the day of socializing with the extended family...the noise...the heated conversations....the mulit-course meals....it's all just too stimulating for us calm, secluded, isolated ABQ denizens. Like spending the day outside camping and hiking...at the end of the day, it hits you and you're drained.

So, rather than a night of drinking and screaming (have you played Pit any other way?!) and gaming, we'll be watching CashCab or Ghostbusters or the like, lying on fold out beds (kids) or spooned on the overly-soft Queen bed (bigger kids). And off to CrackerBarrel in the am (_NOT_my choice...) for brunch with "the whole famn damily" before hopping on a plane to pop on home. A whirlwind Midwest tour.

HOpe that they can sleep on the plane as we land at 9pm. Then it's back to work/school/real-life in the morning.

No rest for the weary (wicked?)!! :-S At least it will be (sage) green.....

Thursday, May 13, 2010

Skinflint? Big Spender? Both?

How do you waste money?

We all do.

It seems easy to recognize in others what is difficult to see in onself. I can only speak for myself, of course, but it's easy to see how others waste money that they should/could be spending more practically.

For example, do your kids really need to go to private school? Does a private high school education really result in future success? Is it enough to just pay tuition and trust that this will "give them the leg-up on the competition for college"? What if that means that you're working extra to pay for the tuition? And thus not home to help/supervise/encourage the homework? And not there for the "family dinners" that are shown to decrease teen drug/alcohol use and increase test scores? And the fact that private schools notoriously have _worse_ drug use with increased availability (and decreased exposure in the media)? Is it still a good use of your $$?

Or the "organic" food movement. Does anyone really need organic Twinkies? What about free-range eggs in a cake? Do you feel "healthier" or "better for the environment"? Even if it means driving across town (air quality! gas use!) and paying more $$ and increased packaging? Wouldn't you be better served whipping up a set of Rice Krispie treats with a mixture of all the leftover dregs of cereals and the marshmallows leftover from the winter stock of hot cocoa? And you're doing an activity with those kiddos. Just a thought...

That's not to say that i'm above reproach. Do we really need to take vacations with and without the kids just about every year? The kids have seen a play on Broadway and another one here in town with mucho expensive tickets. Was that absolutely necessary? No. Was it a lot of fun and something that they remember and talk about often? Yes.

So, where do you draw the line? What "splurges" do you deem "necessities" and what is excessive? Not sure. I just know that some of the expenses that others complain about having to pay for with extra hours at work and over-drawing their credit cards seem unnecessary to me. Let me know what you think? Groovy.

Sunday, May 2, 2010

MOJITOS FOR A CROWD

mojitos for a crowd

1C sugar
4oz fresh mint (this is about 1/2 of a large ziploc bag....lots!)
1 1/2C lime juice

place in pitcher, muddle (crush witih wooden spoon if you don't have a muddler), add 3C rum (don't skimp)

place pitcher in refrigerator for 30+ minutes (can prepare early in day and just leave in refrigerator until guests arrive)

to serve: fill glasses with ice, add ~1/3-1/2 C rum/sugar mixture, fill rest of glass with sparkling (bubbly) water

drink and get silly! like "adult limeade" :o)

ten things

I went to a wedding, years ago, of a mutual friend of ours. In the ceremony, the minister was talking about a couple in their congregation. The couple was celebrating their fiftieth wedding anniversary and the minister had asked the wife if she had any advice for the newlyweds. She, of course, did.

She told him that when she and her husband were engaged, they were told by their minister to make a list of ten things. Ten things that each would tolerated in the other without complaining, without trying to change. Ten things that each would "let slide". Well, the woman didn't make the list. She was busy. She thought it was silly. She meant to but didn't get around to it. Whatever. She told the minister that, like many things in life, it all worked out. She said that throughout their fifty year marriage, whenever he did some little thing that got on her nerves, she would just think "that must be one of those ten things" and let it slide. There were apparently very few "big things" in a marriage that were distressing, lots of little passing habits and irks that didn't merit the effort to try to change or complain about.

I really liked this story and decided then and there to do the same. Joe and i really don't squabble. We figure that so few things are that important to either of us that if there is something that is of burning importance to the one, we just let that person decide. What color to paint the hall bathroom? Which hotel to book for the upcoming vacation? Which film to watch on Saturday night? Whoever seems to care more gets to decide.

There are, however, habits of Joe's that bug me. And i let them slide, all the while thinking that it's just not worth troubling the water to mention them. That's not the issue. He has often mentioned things that i do that he doesn't like-- leaving apple cores in the sink until i do dishes and rinse it all down the disposal, leaving cabinet doors open longer than necessary, not zeroing out the microwave. My question is.... how many things do i do that make him crazy that he doesn't mention? I know that i used to wear a yellow flowered sweatshirt a lot. It was from high school and had lots of good memories. When i donated it, he told me that he's always disliked it. For years. What else that i do or wear or am has he disliked for years and never mentioned? Yikes.

I try to redress the "bugs" that he points out but i never get it right. I'm good for three weeks then leave the oatmeal out (not sure if i need to add more...) and he puts it away for me. Then i take it out again and he just sighs....

Am i just a slob? Or have we become one of those crazy old couples? I take it out, he puts it away. I open the cabinets, he closes the doors. i guess that it's good that we're so well matched!

Mojitos, munchies and Settlers....

oh my!

We had another of our "game nights" last night and wowie, was it fun. We invited our friends Carlos and Jen, frequent fliers in our party circle, and one of Joe's colleagues and her family. Her teens and our teens get along and her 7yo comes along for the ride. The "kids" played Wii and watched movies while the "big kids" played Settlers of Cataan (a board game) and drank mojitos (recipe to follow). The drinks greatly enhanced the game playing as the "big kids" got pretty silly. Each couple had a "designated driver" that cut off drinking early so that the other could continue to imbibe and get sillier.

Joe won the game (as often happens, he's really good) but it was pretty close. It's a lot more fun that way. When there is a blow-out game, it's not fun for the "losers' (as often happens, me). Settlers with six people is a very different game than with four (our more familiar number of players). We'll have to keep it in mind for the next time we need a six player game. Hardly any games work with odd numbers or with more than six.

The last game night was so well attended (over-invited?) that we had to split into two groups, in different rooms. That wasn't as much fun as one room was clearly having more fun....and i was in the other room. So, i could hear the fun but was involved in a game with one less-than-enthusiastic couple and the reluctant spouses of the "fun gamers". Ick. None of the couples from that room were on the guest list for last night's shindig. :o(

Every time that we have one of these get-togethers at the house, we swear ahead of time never to do it again. Too much work. Too expensive. Too much of a bother. Then, people arrive, settle in, we start socializing and having fun.....then they go home... and we turn to each other and start talking about "next time, we should do this... and have these people.... and serve this...And the cycle starts all over again. :o) We forget how fun it is before the next one and are again grousing about the guest list and the added bother of having everyone here (clean the house, stay home, cook/prepare drinks, etc, etc). Secretly, i think that Joe just goes along with it because he knows that the house will look "fantabulous" and decluttered the day of the event. It's not jus a social event-- it's an occasion to de-stuff our house (or at least the ground floor) and pitch crap wholesale. We should do that more often...

Off to enjoy our decluttered and quiet house (sleeting outside, see earlier post). It's beginning to look a lot like Christmas....

ick

So, one of the reasons that we love, love, love living in NM is the fantastic weather. Four seasons (rainy, winter, windy and summer). Moderate temperatures (not so-hot-that-small-animals-explode-in-your-front-yard hot like Phoenix, not cold-and-grey-for-months like the Midwest). Dry and clear days with blue skies. What's not to love.

Which brings us to today. Actually, the past week. It's 2 May. Look at your calendar and it will confirm. Do not look out our windows for confirmation. It's sleeting. Yes, snow and sleet and grey skies and ick. In May. And has been chillly and wet and blech for the past three days. It's 74 degrees in Ohio/Indiana (per reports that i've gotten) and we have this mess. We're to be in Ohio in a couple weeks and, no doubt, the good weather will have passed in the Midwest. We'll bring the grey, chilly, dampness with us and leave NM to be sunny and blue and clear.

I'm not usually so grumpy but polar fleece the last month of school? Who's great idea was that? Then again, the kids aren't wearing polar fleece. In fact, they're not wearing sleeves at all. They urge me to "go get the car and pick us up" so that they don't have to go out in the ick, being able to pass from the heated church/school to the heated car. It's nice that we can make life as comfortable as it is for them. It's good to be 12 and/or 15!

I'd hoped to take a walk this afternoon and look at all the pretty flowers coming out (it being spring and all) but the storm that blew in talked me out of it. Maybe i'll just light a fire, drink hot milk and read my book. Not a bad consolation. I'll just pretend that it's November....

Off to read and pretend to be countind down the days 'til Christmas. Hohoho

Friday, April 23, 2010

recipe a gogo

This was a "mom's surprise" recipe that worked! Gotta share it!

I've made the first recipe for years and years. I've "tweaked" it to be just the way that i like it. Then i saw the second recipe and "tweaked" it to be just the way that we like it. You'll have to try them both and see which you prefer. I can't decide. I've been eating a "sampler platter" with a smallish wedge of each on the same plate. :o)

VEGGIE QUICHE

1C cooked, cold, leftover rice
1+C cooked veggies*
1/3C shredded cheese**
2 egg whites
2 eggs
3/4C milk
dash hot sauce

*steamed broccoli, drained (well!) spinach, sauteed zucchini and green chiles, etc
** whatever seems to go well with veggies-- cheddar, feta, swiss, etc

pam a pie pan, spread out the veggies, then the cheese, then the rice
mix the rest well, dump over the "filling"
bake at 350 for 55 minutes, cool for about 5 minutes, serves 4-6 (?)


RAMEN QUICHE

cook 1pkg Ramen noodles (save flavor packet for later), drain well

1+C sauteed veggies (i used broccoli and green onions)
1/3C shredded cheese (mozzarella this time)
3 eggs
3/4 C milk (used whole milk)
1 flavor packet from Ramen (used Oriental flavor)

pam the pie pan, spead in veggies, then cheese, then Ramen noodles (cooked in am, used cold in the evening, don't know if it matters)
mix rest and pour over "filling"
bake 350 for 55 minutes, cool for about 5 minutes, serves 4-6?)

Without a crust, this could be more appropriately called a frittata but i feared that my kids (ok, Alessandra) wouldn't eat a frittata (which implies a mainly egg dish) while a French Quiche might have better acceptance. She made the second quiche/frittata.....and liked it. She didn't love it but she did eat it and i count that as a victory!

See what you think. Tell me what veggie combinations are your favorites. I'm partial to spinach and feta but the zucchini and green chiles with cheddar is pretty yummy...

ama

Ok, i've made recipes from Pop-pops (my late father-in-law), my late Dad and even one from Grandma Amy. I don't have any recipes from Ama but her "wisdom" keeps coming out of my mouth and guiding my actions.

Just the other day, i was taking care of a smelly, poor, icky patient at the hospital. One of those that you smell before you see them. Now, i'm no saying that there is a crime of being poor. I'm not saying that i'm that much of a snot. But (Ama wisdom here), there is a limit. Her saying "There's no crime in being poor. No crime. But there's no sense in being dirty. Soap and water are cheap." A little more cleanliness and this individual might not have come down with the horrid infection that put them in the OR in the first place. Just a thought...

Then, another Ama-ism, this one again on "societal ills". Ama wasn't a PhD. She may not even have finished high school (don't know, never asked). But she was very smart and efficient and productive. She had had a number of different jobs (worked in a bakery, in a deli, was a nanny) but most of the time that i knew her, she cleaned houses. She was the hardest working person that i knew. Under chairs, behind couches, inside the runners of windows-- dirt and grime had no place to hide! And she always told me-- "some people are book smart, some are a lot smarter than i am, and there's no shame in that. but there's no excuse for being lazy. everyone can do something." And i thus have little patience with some of my colleagues at the hospital who are all pretty "book smart" but lazy as all get-out. My little German grandma (Hoosier grandma?) could run circles around them. And she had really short legs...

Speaking of being lazy, i'd best get back to the tasks that i left downstairs. I came up with laundry and got sucked in by the computer, Back to the salt mines!

Thursday, April 22, 2010

hellooooo.....

It's been like forever since i've been back here. Sorry to those of you (all two or three?) that were reading and waiting. Life gets busy.....or i just get lazy. Anyway, i have free time now and thought that i'd check in.

This healthcare debate, combined with the general crappy economy and some poor practices at Presbyterian Hospital have left me with more "down time" than i might choose. As a PACU nurse, my need is determined by the OR schedule. Fewer cases in the OR need fewer RN's in the PACU. As i am PRN (see earlier post), i' the first person "census managed" (sent home early with no $$).

So....i was sent home at 1100 on Tuesday and 1200 today. I'll never get rich this way!!!

Then again, i did have the whole house to myself to clean, cut squares for quilting and have my after-school coffee time all to myself. The silver lining to the grey cloud!!

Sunday, April 11, 2010

Second hand joy

So, i took the kids "thrifting" this afternoon after church. Joe was at work for the day and the kids wanted to go "shopping". I figured it was a win-win.

We split up, each to his/her own department. I'm looking at a cute sundress when Christian come walking up with something. Look, he says, i found something that is absolutely perfect for you, maman!! And he is holding up a backpack/purse. It's patchwork/quilted with patterns of mushrooms. It's the right color. The right size. Well made. Perfect in every way except one..... i donated it about three weeks ago!! I guess things don't move too quickly through the FamilyThriftStore (yes, that's really the name)!!

Christian found a pair of Desert Storm combat boots that are roughly his size (too big but, if you know Christian, you cannot tell him anything). Alessandra found two really cute-on-her t-shirts (although she keeps telling me that she wants to get "nice clothes-- you know, not just tees and jeans"). I found two pairs of jeans and a dress.

Jeans!! That actually fit. Not too long or too loose or too tight! Like Goldilocks, i found "just right". They just belonged to "baby bear" before i took them over. :o)

The sundress is turquoise and flowery and short. I didn't realize until i got it home and hung it in my closet but it makes three (3!) turquoise, flowery, short sundresses for me. Call me a traditionalist. Or just call me boring and predictable. But i have a cute summer wardrobe of turquoise sundresses and one pair of sandals will match all three of them. So there!

Now that i've found a style of jeans that fits for me, Joe said that i should surf the Levi's site and buy more. I've not had jeans that fit in years. And, living in NM, jeans are pretty much all we wear outside of work and pj's. And, come to think of it, i wear pj's at work too!

Off to make Joe "walk in a circle" around our neighborhood before getting Christian from youth group. I was just so tickled with our "shopping trip" this afternoon that i had to share it with someone. If anyone is really reading this...

Wednesday, April 7, 2010

high school never ends #3

Ok, so in high school i was a geek. I'll admit it. And i pined to look like, to be, to act like,to be accepted by-- the populars. One thing that they all had was the Kenya Bag. It's a purse/satchel, mid-sized, made of raffia/jute/hemp looking fiber, striped, with a pair of leather straps. I wanted it so bad....but never got one. Too expensive.

http://www.onyxopal.com/media/0826_sisilbag-003-small.jpg (check it out)

Then, lately, i saw that they are coming back. I saw them at the Sunflower Market (area market, like Trader Joe's or Wild Oats/Whole Foods). They haven't changed. They're still raffia-ish, striped, leather straps. They support the "fair trade" market in Kenya (not that we cared in high school). They're still $45...

So, i have $45 now. But i'm still too cheap to spend $45 on a whim. Even a whim that's lasted for 25+ years (*blush*). So, i didn't buy the bag when i saw it at the Sunflower (although i did point it out to the kids, both of whom told me to just buy it if i want it).

Today,i took Alessandra and her BFF "thrifting" as they were off school and wanted to do something fun.

And i saw "the bag".....at ThriftTown.

Clearly, i was meant to have it!!

So....tada!! For only $2, i have been able to (very belatedly) join the "in crowd" with the Kenya Bag. Woohoo!!!

It's shameful how easily amused i can be. :o)

Or how cheap my pleasures!

I guess there's a reason that my license plate (and motto for life!) is : 4EVER5!!

Tuesday, April 6, 2010

high school never ends #2

HIGH SCHOOL NEVER ENDS

Years you think for sure
That's all you've got to endure
All the (total dicks)
All the Stuck-up Chicks
So superficial, so immature

Then When you graduate,
Ya take a look around and you say "Hey Wait!"
This is the same as where I just came from,
I thought it was over, Aw that's just great.


Ch:
The Whole Damn World is just as obsessed
With who‘s the best dressed and (who's having sex)
Who‘s got the money. Who (gets the honeys)
Who‘s kinda cute and who‘s just a mess

And you still don't have the right look
And you don't have the right friends
Nothing changes but the faces, the names, and the trends


High School Never Ends
Oh Oh, Oh Oh Oh-Oh, Oh Oh Oh-Oh, Oh Oh Oh-Oh
HEY!
Oh Oh, Oh Oh Oh-Oh, Oh Oh Oh-Oh, Oh Oh Oh-Oh
HEY!

Check out the popular kids
You'll never guess what Jessica did!
And how did Mary Kate (lose all that weight?)
And (Katie had a baby so I guess Tom's straight!)

And the only thing that matters,
Is climbing up that social ladder
Still care about your hair and the car you drive
Doesn't matter if you're 16 or 35

Reese Witherspoon, she's the Prom Queen
Bill Gates, Captain of the chess team
Jack Black, the clown
Brad Pitt, the quarterback

Seen it all before
I want my money back!


Ch:
The Whole (damn) World is just as obsessed
With who's the best dressed and (who's having sex)
Who's (in the club and who's on the drugs)
(And who's throwin up before they digest)

And you still don't have the right look
And you don't have the right friends
(And you still listen to the same shit you did back then)


High School Never Ends
Oh Oh, Oh Oh Oh-Oh, Oh Oh Oh-Oh, Oh Oh Oh-Oh
High School Never Ends


Solo


Ch:
The Whole Damn World is just as obsessed
With who‘s the best dressed and (who's having sex)
Who‘s got the money. Who (gets the honeys)
Who‘s kinda cute and who‘s just a mess

And I still don't have the right look
And I still have the same 3 friends
And I'm pretty much - the same as - I was back then(hold en)

high school never ends #1

The group "Bowling for Soup" has a song entitled "High School Never Ends". I heard it on the radio while the kids were in the car and thought that it was cute.But that wasn't the end of the story.

As i've thought about it since, i find that it's been true for me. What about you? Let me explain.

In high school(back me up on this one, Beth), i was faaaar from popular. I was mocked for everything from the clothes that i wore and the way that i walked to the books that i read and the way that i spoke. Nothing i did was good enough for the popular chicks (and guys) so after a while, i stopped even hoping to fit in and gave up. I stayed with my friend Beth (not that she was "uncool", she was just two grades behind me and thus out of the vicious feeding circles of my popular age-peers).

Now, i'm a "big person" and seemingly beyond those petty concerns. But, no,not really. See, i'm the mom of a "popular". She has all the right clothes, communicates the right way and is ultra-cool. And i'm still the dork.

I talk on the mobile phone when it's cool to only text.

I wear all the wrong clothes for myself and pick out clearly dweebish clothes for her that she refuses to wear.

I don't listen to the right music (don't even have an iPod!) and don'tknow the cool groups.

In short, i'm back in high school......and still uncool.

It's ok. I'm a mom. Embarrassing my offspring is my job. My mom sometimes seemed uncool when i was young (she frosted her own hair in the kitchen with this goofy hat and smelly bleach!). Then again,she did double-dutch jumprope with the girls in the neighborhood and taught us all how to crewel. She was cooler than i have ever been.

Am i beyond hope? Probably not. I'll be "cool" again when she is 25 and needs answers on how to do "big people things" (ie roast a Thanksgiving turkey, wean a baby or negotiate sibling ribalry). I can't wait. I'll wear my uncool embroidered bell-bottom jeans!!

Monday, April 5, 2010

p.s.

She didn't wear the dress. I did wear my dress. And no one at church noticed (or said anything) about the dress. Or the scratch. So, she was right, i guess. No one noticed one way or the other.

difference between my kids

I took Christian garage-saling this past Saturday. He'd received $$ from his grandma and wanted to get something. His sister was at a fair with her piano teacher, working, but still doing something fun. As he was stuck home, i thought that hitting garage sales would be fun for him. The two of them are always pointing them out and asking to go.

So we went. And they were crappy.

We found four lavender placemats at one and, as we always need more, i bought them. At another, we found a book (How Things Work) for Christian. The other five garage sales were wastes.

As we were driving home, i lamented to Christian that we weren't very lucky. He only got a book and i found nothing fun. He pointed out the placemats and i told him that "those are for the house, a home purchase, not a fun-for-me purchase". He said....

"You are the home, maman. Without you, it's just a building."

Aaaaaawwww!

So, the next morning, Alessandra and i are getting ready for church. She is contemplating wearing the dress that she'd worn to school on Thursday (dress-up before the Easter holiday) but didn't want anyone to see her redness on her arms (sun exposure from teh Children's Fair the day before). I told her that i was wearing a dress and i had a scratch down the front of my leg. That i could sympathize with feeling self-conscious but that i wasn't going to let it control what i was going to do. She said......


"But mom.... it's not like anyone is going to be looking at you. No one will notice."

And thus, the difference between my kids.

recipe from the dearly departed

Marinated Carrots

These were so very popular at the Easter Eggstravaganza (subject for another posting...) that i have to include the recipe here. Hope that you love it as much as we do!!!

4# carrots (peeled and sliced "papa carrots" or just use baby carrots)
1-2 bell peppers, thinly sliced
1 red onion, thinly sliced

2 can tomato soup
1 1/2C sugar (i know, it's a lot, work with me here)
1 1/2C vinegar (cider or white)
1T A-1 sauce (or Worcestershire Sauce)
1 1/2T cheap yellow mustard
2t salt (or more)
2t pepper
1T dried basil
2T oil (called for 2/3C, do what you feel is right)

cook carrots in boiling water to softer than al dente but still firmish (between firm and mush)
drain into colander into which you've placed the onions and bell peppers
meanwhile, mix sauce ingredients
dump drained veggies in sauce, mix well and let sit in refrigerator overnight
better after 12 hours, even better after 36!

Can easily by halved if you're not feeding a small Prussian army....

Thursday, March 25, 2010

shameless forward..

Michael W Smith (Christian music star) is a new grandpa. In honor of his new grandson, the radio station is holding a contest to collect all kinds of advice and words of wisdom for the new parents. I saw the following and it made me cry. So...now it's your turn!

The Eyes of a Child

I see an ugly weed,
she sees a pretty flower.
I stayed at home sick.
He’s happy ‘cause daddy’s home.
Coloring with her is just one more thing to do.
She begins to glow when she colors with me.
I’m too tired to play another game.
Playing another game with me makes his day.
Does she have to bring me another wrapped present?
She gives her heart in the presents she wraps.
“I’m going in now, got stuff to do.”
“Daddy, don’t go in yet, we’ve only just begun.”
I want to sit alone, my feet upon the stool.
Sitting with me makes her feel warm and safe.
Do I have to watch him play in the bath again?
Every moment counts by the beat of his heart.
I need some down time, some time to rest.
She needs a goodnight kiss and a prayer with me.
Can I go to bed yet? - I have to work tomorrow.
It’s daddy’s turn to read him a book, sing him to sleep.
Laying down at days end, I close my eyes for sleep.
Closing their eyes for sleep,
they dream only of more daddy time tomorrow.
©K. Edward Bevers

Tuesday, March 23, 2010

dearly departed dinner party

Ok, i'd written that we were going to have a "dinner party" of recipes from those in our families that have passed. I thought that perhaps you'd want an update on how that's going.

The "Paul's Favorite Spinach" dish was a massive failure. Oh, the recipe turned out just like i remember it from my childhood. But no one liked it. No one.

The "Sunburst Chocolate Cake" was a hit (but a bit dry).

Ama's Red Cabbage was a hit with the adults (me and Joe) but the kids didn't like it. Something about an unfamiliar vegetable..... or maybe just a vegetable. ;o(

We still have the recipe from Aunt Louise. Her "famous recipe" is Aunt Louise Waffles. While we were in Washington DC, staying at the Radisson with the breakfast bar, i tried on multiple occasions to make this for the kids. The "waffler" was in the lobby and we had ice cream in our room. The kids just had waffles with syrup or strawberry syrup. So much for passing on the Aunt Louise Waffle tradition. Alessandra thought that the syrup was more "healthy". I think that full sugar syrup and butter or ice cream-- it's about a draw.....

Tonight we're having Buddha's Delight, a Chinese dish that looked good to me. Alessandra says that she wants to make it and eat it. We shall see. She's not traditionally the "adventurous eater" (and that's putting it mildly...) but i keep thinking that eventually she'll outgrow it...

Maybe we need to start making new family tradition recipes. We'll start with Buddha's Delight. If it doesn't work out, there is always Mary Teriyaki (from Mary Steinmann Pathe)-- though she's not a dearly departed.... :-[

i love my PRN life@

Many women define themselves by their jobs. They identify with their professional identities. My occupation is as a nurse but i identify more with the schedule that i have. I'm a PRN RN. This means that i work when i want to and not when i don't. I tell the hospital when i can work and am only scheduled then. I can thus be a mom first and a nurse second. A wife first and a nurse second. A school-library-volunteer first, nurse second.

There's been a nursing shortage for as long as i've been in nursing (started nursing school in 1984). This is bad for most (hospitals and other facilities are chronically short-staffed) but good for me. Whenever i list myself as "available", i'm almost always guaranteed to be taken on. I can call often the day of and be put on the schedule for a shift.

As a PRN RN, i'm not required to do many of the "bad shifts" that my fellow nurses have as part of their conditions of employ. I don't have to work every other weekend, or any weekends at all. I am not required to work holidays.....ever. I no longer am required to cover "off shifts" like evenings or nights. I can choose to work any of these but am not obligated. This is an enormous benefit. I don't miss seeing the kids open their Christmas presents. I don't have to leave for work on an evening shift just as my kids are getting home from school.

This PRN schedule has been so great for our family that two years ago, my husband went to a more flexible schedule too. We are off, together, on average one weekday a week. With or without the kids. This flexible schedule allows us to be off for the three day ski weekends with the kids. Or a day off mid-week to be just the two of us. All day long.

My daughter and son are so familiar with my PRN schedule that they too are looking for occupations and professions that allow them flexibility to be people first, workers second. Life balance while still being a professional?

I love my PRN life.

Friday, March 19, 2010

better

The sun is shining. I've had my coffee (ok, mostly milk with just a whiff of coffee, but still.....). I slept until 0800 (amazing! unprecedented! really, really late!!). Day at least starting out better than yesterday (and yesterday started out ok until our real estate agent dumped her bad news upon us). Crossing my fingers that today goes UP not DOWN.

Thursday, March 4, 2010

my daughter is a writer!!

MY FAMILY IS A HAPPY MEAL

My brother is a hamburger.
He’s short, thick and square.
His feet are soft and round like buns.
And there’s ketchup in his hair.

My mom is like the drinking straw,
She’s oh so thin and twisty.
And bubbly like a soda pop,
Maybe Coke or Sierra Misty.

My dad is the swirly cone.
He’s calm, collected, cool.
Or maybe he’s the happy toy.
They both dance like a fool.

And me? I am the side dish.
My fingers are like fries.
I’m as mixed as a McFlurry.
And as sweet as apple pies.

My family is a Happy Meal.
We’re not the healthiest bunch.
And though we’re odd, we sure do make
A really yummy lunch.

Sunday, February 21, 2010

surreal dinner party

I was making a list yesterday for the grocery. What's on sale where. What we need in the house as "staples" (milk, bread, shampoo, laundry starch). What we need for the recipes that i'm going to make for the week.

It was this last part of the list-making that got me thinking.

We, Joe and i, used to have dinner parties, about every month. Usually six people (three couples or a mix of couples and singletons), dinner and dessert at our place on a Saturday night. A mix of people from work and neighborhood and church, parents of our kids' friends, football team parents... As we don't have family here in NM, we kind of make our own "family" for holidays and other weekends.

Making the list for this week's recipes got me thinking of our next dinner party and what we should make and who we should invite. Then i started really looking at the recipes.

I have a recipe for "Sunburst Chocolate Cake" that says in the comments "make for Big Joe next time he comes....chocolate and orange-- his favorite!". I then saw the recipe for "Paul's pie crust" soon followed by "Grandma Amy's English Toffee". That was close to the recipe for "Paul's Favorite Spinach". Not to be outdone, i then had a recipe for "Wolfe Eggs", with the comment "this was developed by Larry Pathe from a comment in a Nero Wolfe book.... and was always a hit at Easter celebrations with the Pathe clan". I then saw the recipe for "Ama's Frickadelen" (a kind of cold hamburger/mini-meatloaf that is yummy for picnics or light sandwich-and-soup dinners).

A whole "dinner party" (five recipe contributors or attributors) of loved ones in our families who have passed in the past twelve years (Ama first, the week after Christian was born, then Larry, Amy, Paul).

Kinda morbid, i guess.

So, instead of having a dinner party of friends and strangers (more on the strangers part in another posting), we're going to try something different this month. No, we cannot have a dinner party of family as they are all snowed in way out in Ohio/Indiana and cannot come here.

No, we're going to have a pseudo-family dinner. And serve favorite recipes of family members all month. We're starting with the "Paul's Favorite Spinach" recipe tonight and should finish the month with the Sunburst Chocolate Cake (Big Joe, aka Pop-pops). If we cannot get the others of our families here in NM for dinner, we'll just dine on "family dishes" and pretend. We can share the family stories with our kids and help them to feel a part of a bigger family.

I'll attach the recipes when we make them. Then you can try them too.

Oh hail!

Bright sunny day.



Coolish but not too cold (ie: wearing long sleeves but not mittens or coats or even sweatshirts).



Then i hear a noise outside.



Hail!!



Still bright and sunny on our driveway.....somewhat clouded over in the valley...



Now the hail has stopped.



Yes, we get all four seasons....sometimes two or three in one day!!

Saturday, February 20, 2010

blessed?

It all started at Albertson's. Christian and i stopped to pick up oj and grapefruit juice for Joe (he only drinks them mixed, too sweet with just oj, too tart with just grapefruit). We went through the "self-serve" line and were on our way out when we saw that the woman behind us had left the $1 change that she'd received in the dispenser at the lane across from us. As she'd already left, we could have just pocketed the $$. A celestial tip, if you will. Instead, we called over the cashier/attendant and gave him the $1. He said that he'd mark the time and date and if the woman came back, her $1 would be there.

For all i know, he pocketed the $$ and went about his day. We did "the right thing" and that was really all that we could control. We dashed home and finished making dinner. Christian told Alessandra about the $1 but i thought that that would be the end of it.

The next day (Saturday), i'm walking in a circle in our neighborhood and i see paper trash on the side of the road. I pick it up (like i often do, patrolling my walks for trash) and find that it's a $1 bill. Like the famed "pennies from Heaven", only bigger! I told Joe about it and he said that clearly God has been trying to give me a dollar, having tried twice in two days. :o) I gave the $1 to Christian in the morning and he put it in the collection plate at church.

The kids go to Sunday school but i don't. Since i have that "down time", i usually read or walk outside. I was walking (this is the next week now) just a bit as i'd finished my reading and had 10 minutes to waste. Three women were coming towards me on the sidewalk and, as i always do, i stepped off to give them free passage. In looking to the side to make sure that i didn't step on something in the grass/gravel, i saw paper again. I picked it up... and it was a $20.

Clearly God wants me to have more abundance in my life!

I gave the $20 to Alessandra as she was needing to buy new gym shoes and $20 will go a ways towards getting the Chuck Taylors of her dreams (at least, this week's dreams...).

Then i cut through the arroyo to get to the church and found a CD. Thinking that Christian could use it for archery practice, i picked it up. It was Rascal Flatts...and played excellently in my CD player in the car. Fun!!

Then, yesterday, i'm at the post office mailing bills (ick). I come out of the post office and find two bright, shiny quarters sparkling in the sun next to my car. Coincidence? Three times in two weeks?

I just don't know what to make of it. But i do know that i'm going out for a walk this morning while Alessandra is in her jazz band competition. Maybe i'll be rich!

Monday, February 15, 2010

rain, rain, go away!!

Ok, i admit it. This is a "cheat post". I received this in my inbox and just loved it so much that i wanted to share. Go pour yourself a cup of tea and enjoy!


Rainy-Day Ideas
Uplifting Showers

Rain is often seen as an annoyance, next time it rains visualize it cleansing both you and the earth.


The simple miracle of water falling from the sky has been interpreted in many ways by many cultures. In various areas of the world, rain was viewed as a nourishing gift, given by well-pleased deities. Rain also served as a symbol of emotional cleansing and represented the unending union between earth and sky. Today, rain is often seen as an annoyance—something to be borne doggedly while attending to one’s usual duties. But the arrival of one or more rainy days can also be interpreted as a signal to slow down and contemplate life. When Mother Nature darkens the sky and causes drizzle to fall, freshly opened buds close and many animals settle into their nests for a period of repose. We can honor rainy days by following the example put forth by the flora and fauna around us. Even if we must venture out into a shower, we can still slow down and appreciate our connection to nature.

A rainy day spent indoors can be wonderfully uplifting. As the rain pours down, fill your home with light, sound, and comfort so that you can fully appreciate the loveliness of being snug and dry during a downpour. Storms literally change the energy in the air, and you may feel driven to follow suit by burning incense or sage, ringing bells or chimes, lighting candles, or singing. You may even feel compelled to talk to each room in your home in order to express your gratitude for the protection they give you. If, however, you feel claustrophobic rather than calm because you cannot venture outdoors, you can clear away negative energy by getting rid of clutter, sweeping away dust, and freshening your up spaces. The happier you are in your home, the more beautiful and wondrous a simple rain shower will seem.

A sheltered spot like a covered porch, sunroom, or bay window can provide you with a wonderful vantage point from which to meditatively observe raindrops as they make their descent to earth. And the pitter-patter of rain on a rooftop or car window can even be a therapeutic and soothing sound—one that reminds us that while the unforeseen will always be a part of our lives, we should never forget that nearly every cloud that comes into our lives will have a silver lining.