Monday, December 19, 2022
random rantings from the Rossi ranch
Some people take loooooong showers and have the much-discussed (at least on Bored Panda) "shower thoughts". I hate showering (more on this in a minute) but love to let my mind wander when i take my looooong walks in the morning. The birds are singing, i'm alone, my mind wanders as i walk the same route (so the view rarely changes). Of course, my focus being on my random thoughts is how i get bitten by the stray dog but i digress. .......
.
.
Anyway, so on the walk that i took this morning (thank God, back to walking!), i had some thoughts that had built up (four days without walking...i was getting cranky -- no endorphins!). Because you are still reading, you are stuck having to share in the random ramblings from my head. Feel free to stop reading now! Leave a comment, if desired, at gringalet@hotmail.com (cannot leave comments here...don't know why...).......
.
.
1. I went to a wedding and the priest was telling a story of a long married couple from his congregation. They were asked the secret to their long union and the woman spoke up. "See,", she said, "when we were getting married 40 years ago, that priest told us to make a list of five things that the other partner could do that we would just overlook, despite how much it bugged us. I was a busy bride and just didn't make the list. I didn't tell either my husband or the priest. Then, throughout the past 40 years, every time that he did something that i wanted to protest... i would just figure that what he was doing was one of the things on that list that i didn't make and held my tongue.". This got a giggle from the congregants at the wedding and the ceremong proceeded to its end. But.... his story spoke to me. I was already married at the time but thought that this was a good idea. So, throughout the past 31 (!!) years, there might have been things that i would have squawked about...but i didn't for the most part, thinking that they must be "one of those five things"...... Until recently when Hubster has started a new behavior that is like bamboo under my nails. I stopped the Duolingo Spanish b/c it was just not sticking and making me so sad/frustrated that i wanted to cry. He has continued with his studies and is doing fantastically. So, now he speaks to me (not all the time, but often enough) in Spanish, throwing in words here and there (Bon provecho! every time we sit down to eat....comments on the day/schedule for the week....random comments throughout the day). I don't say anything but want to. I really wonder if i should just start speaking only French to him. He wants to make our home a tower of Babel? Bueno/Bon/Excellent. But.....i don't want to be a spoiled brat...so i say nothing (rien/nada). Can he not get his fill of Spanish speaking with Olga (coming tomorrow and every Tuesday) and Didier (also coming tomorrow and every Tuesday) and all the others in this country except me who speak Spanish? I just smile...and nod....and respond in english or, if i don't know what he's said, just ignore him. Grrrr.......
.
.
2. I have been trying to "braid" our foods so as not to waste (let food go bad b/c we forgot it in the fridge) or have "food monotony" (how often can one eat a cheese quesadilla and plaintains before it's no longer a treat?). Some weeks/days are better than others. This has been a bad week (burnt the spinach so that threw off that meal!) and had to throw away cheese (!!!) that had molded as Hubster kept requesting other foods. So, no matter how careful of a shopper i am (comparing unit prices....only buying what we need....), i am still behind. Grrrr. .......
.
.
3. I have sosososo many recipes for cornbread, baked beans, and pancakes. I have made so many variations to try to make the Hubster happiest. And...he likes the "kits" the best. Homemade cornbread or corn pancakes with flour and cornmeal and baking soda and sugar...and he says "it's not quite as good as Jiffy". Add 1 egg and 1/3C milk...stir...BOOM! Hubster is happy. Soak the beans, mix the tomato sauce, sauteed bacon/grease, salt/pepper, smoke seasoning, mustard, paprika....and he prefers the store-brand barbeque sauce over beans. We won't even talk about the many, many, many times that i've tried any manner of pancakes...to have him crave the "Bisquick kind" (or Krusties)...the "just add water" kind. So...you would think that after THIRTY ONE YEARS i would learn, right? So, on our return trip to the US next month, i will again be "sherpa-ing" back Jiffy cornbread mix. [insert sigh here] What i will do with all the cornmeal that i have already is a mystery.....maybe make cornbread just for me.........
.
.
4. I walked today but have to say that my joy was tempered by fear. I am just reinforcing that i'm getting to be an old lady (or already am but i put my fingers in my ears and say "lalalalala"). I wear pants that cover over my knees. I wear gym shoes with inserts (the inserts are over 10 years old and essentially useless but still better than nothing). I wear a _hug_ turquoise sun visor hat as i've already had squamous/basal cell cancer cut off my face. I carry a stick to fight off the random dog attack (again...had stopped and we saw last week what that resulted in). I carry a key to get back in the house (but no purse/bag as it's only one key..i don't have a wallet). I don't carry a mobile phone because i have no service anyway so it would be useless. I have no music or podcasts to listen to anyway (no service on mobile = no podcast/music). And, even if i had service, Pandora is not available in Costa Rica. I walk alone, pop out in the street if i cross anyone's path (exception if car approaching which it was with said dog) and don't make eye contact or _ ever_ speak to anyone (see: "don't speak Spanish"). So...i'm a crazy old lady with a stick and a diverted gaze. I only need to start mumbling to myself to make the vision complete. :-( I was back to walking today but hyper-sensitive to the threats of dogs, stumbling on uneven pavement (you should see the roads/sidewalks here...sigh), or sun damage. If we still had our treadmill, i would go back to that (boring as it was). The birds and sunshine are nice though. Maybe after a week or so my fear of the dog will abate. As it was, i took a different route today (shorter and more commercial/public...less nature, more cars) but will hope to return to the "better" route (which passes where i "met" the dog) next week. When i'm braver (or my leg stops aching and reminding me with each step of the incident)........
.
.
5. I made , last week, an appointment for today to have a "female exam" and was assured by the "bilingual english speaking" nurse that it would occur. This morning, i structured our day so that we could go to my appointment, then grocerying and home by lunch. I arrived on time...gave my cards to the nurse at the desk...and waited 45 minutes, past my appointment time, as she took five (5!!) walk-ins before me. When she finally escorted me in to the exam room and sat me on the table, she asked what i was there for. Upon hearing my explanation, she looked confused. I had to act out a pelvic and breast exam (medical charades!) as my "bilingual English medical staff" was ....well.....not. She said, oh no. We don't do that. So, an hour after arriving, i left without anything. If i spoke the language of the country in which i live, i would not have had this problem. Part of the "joy" that i bring on myself by quitting Duolingo and Spanish lessons. It is frustrating and all the more so b/c it's my fault........
6. Off to read and try to "redeem" this day. I hope that you're having a splendid holiday week and get lots of warm family time this coming week and into the new year. .......
.
.
.
.
PURA VIDA....kinda
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment