Monday, December 26, 2022

christmas curmudgeon

How was your Christmas? I have to say, this was the most disappointing Christmas that i can remember having. While i've long said that "it's just a day" about all holidays since the kids were no longer littles, this was even more disappointing that the average "just a day". The high point of the day was drinking 4oz (Hubster bought the little tiny cans of soda instead.."they're so cute!" but it means that my weekly "treat" is that much smaller than when we had the 12oz bottles/cans) of Coke Zero in the moving car on the way to the restaurant. Trying to not spill soda on my dress and/or aspirate soda as we swung around curves and shifted gears to climb the BIG hill that leads out of the neighborhood.......... And that was the high point of the day. You can only imagine how the rest of the day went.......... I had bought a small treat (i thought) for Joe so that he had something fun to start the day. He opened the heart shaped pan with brownie mix...and said, "oh...a brownie...here, put this away" and went to get his computer to read his fantasty football updates (he is out of the playoffs but still reading to see how others in his league are doing...)......... We met with friends at the Asian/Thai restaurant to find that one didn't come(there was a story there that we were not privy to...girlfriend that came said that he had another engagement). The entree that i ordered, on the recommendation of the friend that has lived in Asian countries for the past 15 years, was gado gado...a typical Indonesian dish. It was, it seems, a deconstructed salad. Undercooked hard boiled eggs, sliced in 1/2 (essentially a tad more than soft-boiled...too soft to pick up)....boiled plain potato...boiled green beans (five, cut in half, about 1/2C)....boiled carrot(about 1/2C)...cooked bean sporuts (1/2C)...peanut butter (not sauce, just a bowl of peanut butter)..LUNCH. I couldn't eat the egg (i tried but soft boiled egg with peanut butter? even i don't want protein that much!) and the potato was without taste (peanut butter on potato is not a new TikTok trend..and never will be...)......... ... Friends liked theirs well enough. Hubster got some spicy beef dish that he didn't like ("kinda tasteless mush"). He bought the entire meal for everyone (Merry Christmas to them). Eveyone had drinks and extra rice/naan...they seemed to enjoy the meal. I jst sat there and wished that i was home eting a peanut butter sandwich, not peanut potatoes and peanut eggs.......... We then went to the friends' house to play their "favorite game from family game times". 7Wonders. They were unsure how to explain it and, Hubster having watched a YouTube video of the game, had to explain it mostly. After the explanation,we played two rounds of the game. I never, ever, no, not ever, "got" the game and just randomly put cards in front of me. The two friends for whom this was "their favorite game" were pretty clueless too and had many questions about which card to play and how to proceed. After the second round, there was some discussion of playing a third (games only last ~ 25 minutes). I said that i would not be playing again but that the other four of them could and that pretty much ended that.......... We went home...Hubster says "i'm still full from lunch so not much for dinner....but i want coffee...oh...and waffles would be good". Meanwhile, i'm _starving_ (boiled veg for lunch, no munchies at all at friends' house...they drank wine but i don't drink and there were no other options...). I made a tomato/egg sandwich for me and waffles and coffee for him (didn't want to make a lot and then have to toast them...cannot make more than one at a time in the mini-waffle maker..they are the size of Eggo waffles). We then watched a film that Joe selected...and it was so awful that i just sat on the couch, kept him company and closed my eyes and daydreamed about the rest of the coming week and what i need to do to get everything done.......... ... I was tempted to take sleeping meds so that i could sleep away the entire night and sleep later in the morning but didn't want to wake up hung over. THat would have started today even more glum that it did (at the usual, non-sleeping aid time of 0341). ......... So, next year, Christmas has been cancelled. There will be a 25 December...but it will be just a Monday. Not a holiday. I will "celebrate" with a peanut butter sandwich at home with my kitties (God willing...if they haven't met with harm by then). The key to happiness...lower expectations....really...really....lower expectations, clearly!......... I am counting on your holiday being better.......... Pura Vida.

No comments:

Post a Comment