There are advantages to being a "big person", an adult if you will. Reaching the grocery items on the top shelf. Never having to do long division by hand. Being able to watch the "good movies" (that have bad words). Being able to buy the newest techno-gadget... just because you want it.... without having to ask a parent. No more snarky high/middle-school evaluations of your outfit/hairstyle/body habitus/make-up.
All good.
There are, however, some serious drawbacks, as well. No one will else will pay for the newest techno-gadget that you crave. You have to actually do the grocery shopping. And the social outlets are...well...limited.
It's way easier to make friends (casual and more BFF) when one is in contact with others day in and day out. The friendly girl next to you in Spanish class, the co-worker on a Key club project, the project lead in the AP world presentation. Once one is an adult, the social outlets are limited. Where does one really make friends? Not in the grocery aisle. Not driving the kids to and from school/activities/sports. Not cleaning or sewing or running errands. While the criticisms of the "mean girls" at school may be a drag, at least it's attention and notice of one's existence. Being a big person-- kinda lonely.
Off to drive the kids to school and run errands. Quiet day off but, then again, they usually are. I think that my sister and sister-in-laws had the right idea in staying in the same neighborhood. At least they have family nearby and, for my sis-in-law, all of the high school friends. Company for scrapbooking nights and child-care exchange. I cannot even get someone to be an emergency contact for my kids' school papers. d
No comments:
Post a Comment