We live in the desert. Being awoken by thunder and lightening isn't a regular event by any means but in December?
As opposed to what many of our relatives may think, it does get chilly here. So...we were awoken today by hail and thunder snow.
By the time that we'd finished breakfast (now as late as 0545), the APS folks had declared a 2hr delay for the district. Alessandra stumbled down a bit later, only to find that one of her few times to come down on time was for nothing and she had 120 extra minutes to sleep, lounge, read, play with her new mobile, whatever.
Christian stayed in bed until Alessandra and i made him get up at 0845. He at least took advantage of the snow day to lounge.
A two hour delay is the worst. It just teases the kids (and moms!) with time off. The delay means that they don't have to run to the bus stop but don't really have the morning off to play in the snow. Too long to just read a bit, too short to start doing something without being called away mid-activity.
If they'd been off school, i would have been able to go to work. They'd have stayed home and played outside, surfed the 'net, read books, played piano. If they'd had school as usual, i could also have gone to work and been home soon after their return. With the two hour delay, my hands were tied. I had to stay home to make sure that they were able to catch the bus (would it be running late or early? would it take longer to get to the bus?). By the time that the middle school bus had left, there was only four hours before the high school bus would be arriving to bring kids back. No time to really do anything of any substance.
Oh well. The kids loved having a "short day" and having me home when they got home. The snow had all melted by then. Maybe next time we'll take the time to make more snow angels and worry less about being "productive". The things that i might have gotten done with more time today (housework, etc) will still be there and i'll just have to re-do those things that i did get done anyway as dirt and grime always seem to reaccumulate (job security!).
Off to bed. Hoping not to be awoken at 0400 again by the thunder snow!
No comments:
Post a Comment