Thursday, December 10, 2009

cool or cold?

I must admit that i was never "cool" but i didn't realize it completely until i saw it in my kids. You see, my kids are cool.

Well, make that cold.

See, it's not "cool" to wear a coat (too bulky! no one else does! it's not that cold!). It's "cool" to wear a hoodie (Alessandra) or just a short-sleeved t-shirt (Christian). Even when skiing, the coat is fought then grudgingly worn (not the inner layer, just the shell).

Joe tells me that it's the price of being "cool" and that it was the same when he was a cool high schooler. I guess that i was always the nerdy (warm!) outsider who wore a coat and mittens.

And i never missed the bus either. Having had to drive one or both kids to school every day this week because of missed bus or running late, that point is being driven home too.

Am i just a cranky mom? Or have the kids gotten too quirky? Or have i made them quirky by enabling them to get away with hoodies/short sleeves ("i'm just running in the door of the school...i don't need a coat")?

I wish that i was cool and that all it took was to leave my coat in the car. Alas, i'm so far from cool as to not even recognize it. I'm just vicariously cool through my association with them.

Now that is like the high school that i remember. I was "cool by association" then with Beth and Traci Kinke, as i was the one that drove then too.......... (and they never wore coats....clashed with their parachute/harem pants and BIG hair...)

No comments:

Post a Comment