Wednesday, August 24, 2011

new book

Actually, new books. I just love, love, love my Kindle. I have all the books that i want with me, all the time. Tired of reading the "serious" book? No problem. Tap a couple buttons and poof! i'm in the middle of a silly book about detectives and housewives and monkeys (no, really! the last book that i finished). Needing a new book? Curious about one that i heard or read about in a magazine? A couple taps and i can have the book, right here, right now. From anywhere. I can get a new biography at the orthodontist's office, a new murder mystery at the bus stop, a new French book at work, on my lunch break. I was all ready to not love the Kindle, to "miss" the turning of pages but wow. Who can deny the appeal?

I love my Kindle.

Friday, August 12, 2011

summer's winding down.....

Where did the time go? What happened to the halcyon days of lying around in pjs all day, watching movies in the afternoon? The mornings where the biggest decision was which pool to go to? Shoot... we didn't even go to the "good pool" all summer! The last full day of summer that i'll be home (kids and joe home on Monday, i'm at work.....bad planning on my part)....and Alessandra's alarm clock just went off at 0625. I suppose that it's good to get back in the habit of getting out of bed before 0930...but she has all school year to get up at crack o' dawn....one more day to sleep in. Oh, wait, she just hit the snooze and stayed in bed. Good for her. :o) Christian, of course, is sleeping the sleep of the righteous. He'll be up at the crack o' noon. :o)

I had all kinds of options for today. The "good pool". A walk in the park (before it gets too hot). Putt-putt with (kids') friends. Thrift shopping. Back-to-school supply shopping to get those supplies for Christian's list that we don't yet have. Ice cream stop at Baskin-Robbins. Hang out in the house in pjs and watch movies, play Wii and eat trifle for lunch,. All good options, i thought. Alessandra instead plans to "spend the day catching up with Jadziah" (BFF) so i may just do the DOF (day of fun) with Christian. Or alone when he wants to go out with Robert or Nicole instead. Oh well. At least i'm not at work!

Off to snuggle with my sleeping teen and chat about the day/weekend/week to come. Precious little time for idle morning gossip once the school year starts on Tuesday!

Thursday, August 4, 2011

Blue Max Airflow 2000

Ok, so i bought a new vacuum and it's my new BFF. Ok, so i need to get a life. I've been cleaning like a demon for the past two days. The first day (ok, really only worked for 5 hours but still) was just our bedroom. I vacuumed both sides of the mattress and boxsprings. The carpet. The pillows. The walls/windows. Oodles of fluffy and sandy stuff.

The second day (today) was the first floor of the house. Except the computer/guest room where Alessandra was doing her homework (and i have far too much sewing stuff to move to make it quick).

Before the Blue Max, we used the central vac. It empties into a canister in the garage and i'd empty it about twice a year (big canister-bigger than on an Electrolux or the like).

Today, after the two days of the Blue Max (and not doing the guest room or the laundry room), i emptied the same amount that i used to get after six months of the central vac. Including all the floor sweepings that went to the central vac through the floor electric dustbins.

Ick.

Even after i "cleaned" with the central vac, the house wasn't really clean.

Gotta love the Blue Max 2000.....

What will i do for an encore tomorrow?

Christian's room?! Aaaaaaaack!