Wednesday, June 23, 2010

grasshopper and the ant....

Actually,that's been a theme lately.

I don't know how much you've heard of the "nature vs nurture" themes but i have a spin on that. I don't know how much influence i've actually had on my children but rather think that they're a product of their age as much as anything else. As are we. Let me explain.

I'm a product of my grandma's age and thinking. She was poor as a youngster and relatively poor throughout her life. She always got the best deal, saved for a rainy day and was reluctant to spend money, especially on herself. She would give you the shirt off her back but wouldn't spend the $$ on herself to indulge. Ever. I similarly won't indulge myself (ok, not very often) but am always putting things "up" for later.

I'll "save" the Morningstar Veggie patty (that i love) for the night that the family is eating something beefy and i want something for me. Or for the day that i'm working a long day and want something to look forward to. I've "saved" the fancy china for "good" occasions and thus we only use it on Easter, Christmas and the occasional dinner party. I cut up fruit for the kids' breakfasts every morning, peeling and coring apples and the like. I eat the peels and cores and leave them the "bestest" parts. I eat most of the left-overs in the house (lunches, recycled dinners) while i make them the yummiest things. I wear the outgrown clothes from the kids for work-out wear (and everyday bum-around-the-house garb, like now). I cut coupons and only buy the on-sale items as possible, basing my menus for the week on the sales and deals.

Alessandra is a product of her age too. She of the "i want it all and i want it now, only the best will do" has no problem with taking whatever goodies she sees. The reserved frozen entree meal saved for my 12 hour shift at the hospital this friday? After being told that i had reserved it, she took it anyway, heated it and, after one bite, decided that it was "icky" and threw it away. Having told her that Indian brown rice entree with tofu and spinach would likely not be anything that she'd like, she looked at me like i was an idiot (common expression for a teen, no?) and opened the package and heated it. She is selfish and short-sighted. And no different than most her age. Why save when you can have it now?

We just got back from vacation with a long drive. During this drive, Christian fell asleep and Alessandra was hungry. Joe gave her a Payday candy bar that he'd brought along for just such an event and said to eat half and save the other half for Christian. It would hold them until we got to a town with a restaurant. She broke the bar in half and happily tore into her part. Then Christian woke up....only to find that she had eaten his half too. "i was hungry and he was asleep" being her response. Selfish and short-sighted.

I feel as though i've failed as her parent as i cannot get her past this. And, at fifteen years old, i think that her personality is pretty set, no longer as moldable as she might have been at five. So, we just wait until she is eighteen and on her own. She can then see how the "real world" deals with her and maybe learn to cut her own fruit for breakfast. I'm going to just stop. There is no point in buying the veggie burgers, the fancy frozen Indian meals or "good" peanut butter. When i get to them, they're always gone. Instead of reserving and waiting until the time is right, i'll just wait another three years. And maybe serve them on that china....

Monday, June 21, 2010

new edition of Mom Surprise

yummy soup/chili last night. you gotta try it!!

CHEATER'S CHILI

15oz can refried black beans (or regular refried beans but the black beans are yummier and fat-free)
15oz can petite chopped tomatoes
1/2C salsa
1 can tomato soup
15oz can hominy (rinsed and drained)
15oz black or red kidney beans (rinsed and drained)

dump in crock pot

fill soup can with water, swirl around, slosh in tomato and bean cans too (many cans, one can of water)

add:
2T cocoa
2T taco seasoning packet (about 1/2 packet)
12oz beer (cheap is ok, i used old Budweiser that i found in the back of our drink fridge from who-knows-when)

HIGH 4-5 hours with cover/lid partially open

serve with steamed white rice, lots of cheese/sour cream and optional green chiles (not necessary but yummy!!) and corn bread/tortillas

my family loved it :o)

add to Christian's list

game hen
turtle

looking to add more... suggestions?

Wednesday, June 16, 2010

vacation babble

We are sooooo not Las Vegas people. Of course, we just finished a three day stay in Vegas with plans (at least the kids have plans) of returning. We don't gamble. We don't smoke (although everyone else in the entire city seems to). We don't drink to excess (me, not at all, Joe only the occasional mojito or "boat drink"). We don't stay up all night acting foolish. So, why go to Vegas? The shows.

We took the kids to see Phantom of the Opera (their favorite musical having watched the movie version over and over and over). They loved it. Joe thought that it was ok. I invented recipes and daydreamed throughout the performance, pretending that i was anywhere but there. (Shrieking/opera, couldn't understand/hear much of the words--loud, not clear--, bored). We took the kids to see Cirque du Soleil LOVE (Beatles theme) which they love, love, loved. Since Christmas when they got the Beatles RockBand for the Wii and then Joe got the Beatles BoxSet (every Beatles song ever), it's been Beatlemania at the Rossi household. Putting the Beatles (way-cool) with the acrobatics and dancing and light show of the Cirque du Soleil made for a wild success for our crowd. The kids loved the "beach" pool area at the hotel.

So, while we may not be the typical "Vegas folks", it seemed to be a successful trip. Better than New York (again, there for the shows) although we didn't really take advantage of all the "amenities" that were offered. We never made it to the fancy-schmancy gym. We didn't bet at all (not even the "free spin" on the slot machine). No viewings of feather-encrusted show girls or kitty kat lounge lizards. No buffets. Ever. Many would say, i guess, that we missed out on the whole Real Vegas Experience. I"m ok with that. :o)

We're in Utah now and it couldn't be any more different. Amazingly high and sharp red rock cliffs shooting up from the brown and swiftly flowing Colorado River. Horses and cows in the pasture across from our cabin. Silence only broken by the twittering of birds and occasional snuffle of the horses nibbling the grass. While, like Vegas, there _is_ a buffet offered here, it features red-eye gravy, sausage and biscuits . Thus, the similarity is in name only. And, like our stay in Vegas, we won't be participating in this buffet either. Something about eating until you're uncomfortable so that you feel like you've "gotten your money's worth" that just doesn't appeal. We don't eat enough at any one time to make it worth it. With the exception of Christian who can, and often does, eat more than me and Joe and Alessandra combined. Growing boy and all.

So, speaking of Christian, let's review. On vacations thus far, he's nibbled his way through much of the animal kingdom.
Shark.
Squid.
Octopus.
Rattlesnake.
Tuna.
Cow.
Pig.
Elk (last night).
Buffalo (in Vegas and Albuquerque).
Chicken.
Turkey.
Anchovy.
Deer/venison.
Shrimp.
Lobster.

No duck or squab...yet.,, but he is looking to try that. He really wants to try rabbit and squirrel but hasn't had the opportunity. He points out that both can be purchased at the Keller's Market near our home and cooked. I just don't see me making squirrel etouffee any time soon.....

Alessandra is still staying pretty much with the "tried and true" (noodles of all kinds, cheese, milk, some fruits/veggies) but has expanded her palate a bit too. More hamburgers and some other sorts of beef. Pad thai (which has egg on it). She even tried the salt/pepper squid in Vegas (the "salt" sections that looked like rubber bands, not the "pepper" ones that were little entire squid bodies). One cannot live on mac 'n cheese forever i guess!

Off to wake the gang and head out on today's adventure. Hiking in Arches National Park? Going to the river and splashing around? Horseback riding (for Alessandra)? Our kids are so fortunate. When i come back, forget being a queen or a corporate bigwig... i want to be one of my kids and live the lives that they're now living. Young, cute and indulged (within reason). Good to be them. :o)

Saturday, June 5, 2010

easy street

When i look at the lives of others in our acquaintance, i am again reminded how easy i have it. No debt collectors calling our home. No worries if i find a great fabric on sale and want to buy the whole bolt. No health issues to speak of for me or my family. No marital problems and the kids are doing fine. Working only very part-time so that i can be home with kids over the summer and go to the pool or the archery range or hike on the mountain.

Living on Easy Street.

It's easy to get caught in the slippery slope of complaining about this or the other trivial concern (kids won't get their crap off the counter in the kitchen, i keep tripping over the same socks/gym shoes/boots/books in the kitchen, the workload at work is inequitably distributed) without realizing the incredible bounty of blessings in my life.

In the quiet of an early morning alone, just me, my breakfast and my caffeine, it's good to reflect on how "good i've got it". Sit and watch the hummingbirds outside and wait for the rest of the house to wake up. Life is good.

Now if i can just remember this when i fold go to do laundry and find _still folded clothes_ in the "dirty clothes" baskets from the kids' rooms.... :-S

lucky?

You may want to stop right here. Close this site and not call me. It seems as though we're the "black cloud of ill fortune" lately. While all has been good with us, those around us are having no end of difficulties. We have friends, family and acquaintances experiencing bankruptcy, famiy deaths (of those under 45yo), grave childhood illnesses and genreal despair. While we do have one acquaintance celebrating the birth of a long-anticipated son and namesake (woohoo!), many more are having horrid fortune.

And why?

Are these "bad people"? No. Are these families any more "deserving" of the ill turns of fate? No. Just bad luck? Likely. It's not as if the patriarch was a daredevil motorcycle jumper (a la Evil Kneivel) and is now in a body cast because of it. Or that the matriarch was doing crack and meth and is now deathly ill. No, all the families were just as normal as the rest of us...just going about their usual lives when the various tragedies befell them. They don't all live within the range of a nuclear power plant or on adjoining toxically over-fertilized (and thus bad for the health and welfare) factor farms. The only link betwixt them is their association with us.

So....... still reading? Run for the hills lest our black cloud reach out and envelope you too. :o( It's been such a worthless feeling to see our friends and family suffering so and not be able to do anything. Or even know what to say (as if anything that we say is going to make any of this better, much less "all better").

If good things are going on in your lives, let us know? We're pretty short on the list of "good things happening to good people" these days..