Monday, February 8, 2010

white rabbit day for all....

Alessandra started it. "I'mlate-i'mlate-i'mlate-i'mlate"!! Then Christian picked up the refrain. Being teens (ok, he's technically a pre-teen but work with me here), they are frequently pushing things until the very last minute. So.... at ten minutes before he has to leave for the bus, he's wearing last night's SuperBowl clothes, reading the comics, starting to eat breakfast and has yet to take a shower/make his lunch/take out the trash/pack his bookbag.

Just then, the phone rings. The hospital is short-staffed (not an unusual occurance) and wants me to work. I dash upstairs to shower, etc to get cute (or at least clean) and dress. I have to drive Christian to school (too late for him to catch the bus if he takes out the trash, etc from list above) and then get to work ASAP.

The 27 (no, really! 27!) things on my to-do list will just have to wait. I'll be off reasonably early today and can just break the list up to manageable pieces to do all week.

So, i fly into the parking lot, run into the hospital, quickly clock-in and get to my station in The Hole to find..... no one.

I've been here almost an hour with no work. Making $$, yes. Actually working for that $$, not so much. Oh well. I would just be sewing or sweeping/mopping at home, both of which can be done tonight. And i'll have the $$ to take my honey out to dinner tomorrow night.

All good.

Oops. Here comes my first little bundle of work. Gotta go earn my keep! TTFN!!

1 comment:

  1. Lisa,
    That reminds me of when I was in college. Cornell seemed to have a hurry up and wait culture. I remember having to sprint somewhere to inevitably wait in a line. I could feel the energy shift in your story. Weird connection I know, but it was genuine.
    Diane

    ReplyDelete